Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2014, 06:48 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


My kitchen counter has one GFCI outlet and two additional outlets. None of the outlets work including the GFCI. I have reset the GFCI, but there is no power in the outlets. A refrigerator next to the GFCI works just fine and so does the dishwasher. The other side of the kitchen has two outlets and they are just fine including the stove. I tested all outlets along the kitchen counter and they will not turn on a lamp. Here's the confusing part for me, I had granite countertops installed and the installer, just like myself, thought the outlets were dead, but he almost got himself electrocuted when he touch one with a screw driver. What could possibly be the issue.

Thanks so much for taking time to respond.

repairlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 06:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,914
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


Shut off the breaker on that circuit, test the outlets with a real volt meter not a noncontact tester, then start pull the covers and outlets to check for a loose wire, back stabbed instead of the wire wrapped around screw like it should be or one touching a metal box.
Sounds like the GFI's doing it's job.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 06:59 AM   #3
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,250
Rewards Points: 2,078
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


I am a bit confused. You say the outlets do not work, yet a worker almost got electrocuted when he touched one with a screwdriver. What exactly was he doing at the time? Did he take off the cover plate to do some granite work, and he touched one of the outlet terminals with his screwdriver?

In order to diagnose a problem like this, you have to determine if there is power coming into to the most upstream outlet, which is probably the GFI outlet. To do that you need a voltage tester, and you have to know how to use it. It is possible that there is a fault in the wiring at the GFI or downstream. If the wiring is bad, the GFI will not reset, or you can try to reset it but it will trip immediately. If you supply the exact sequence of what you did, or what the worker did, it will help greatly in diagnosing.
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 07:54 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


Thanks for the response.
Let me say first and foremost -- I do not like dealing with anything electrical and know very little about it. I'm am trying to identify the problem before I have an electrician charge me $300 or $400 to fixed something that might be very simple.
1. I turned off the GFCI breaker; turned back on; plugged a lamp into each outlet (all three) lamp would not come on. I had a handyman test the outlets with a voltage tested and he said they were dead.
2. Couples days later granite was being installed and the installer did have the electrical box out with exposed wires when he touched something and the sound was like a shotgun with sparks flying. It tripped the breaker so doesn't that mean it's a live line.
3. Once electrical boxes were reinstalled I again plugged in a lamp to all three outlet -- no power. I also plugged in a base to a landline phone and the screen said "no power to base".
Thanks so much for you input.
repairlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 08:07 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


An open neutral would explain your problem; either in the panel or in the receptacle box(es). This could be quickly confirmed with a standard tester similar to the Greenlee GT-10.
If you do not know what "open neutral" means it is time to call an electrician, but at least you tried.
Newtricair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:00 AM   #6
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,678
Rewards Points: 2,030
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by repairlady View Post
...and the installer did have the electrical box out with exposed wires when he touched something and the sound was like a shotgun with sparks flying.
It tripped the breaker...
Get the installer to pay for the electrician you need.
TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:06 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 134
Rewards Points: 113
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


First thing I would do is check to see if you have power to the GFI receptacle . If it is bad , it is probably not allowing power to anything plugged into it or any other receptacles down stream .

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WyrTwister For This Useful Post:
jbfan (02-24-2014)
Old 02-24-2014, 10:09 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


Thanks Wyr -- that sounds reasonable. I'll will try your suggestion.
Regards,
repairlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:15 AM   #9
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


If the granite guy got a shock from the GFCI recep when he pulled it out I would turn off all the power to the kitchen or if you feel insecure, the whole house. Replace the GFCI Making sure the line goes to line and load goes to load. May need 2 attempts at this. Replace GFCI and turn power back on. See if either the indicator light or the reset buttons work. You have a 50/50 chance of getting it right! You will be wrong 80 to 90% of the time! If the test and reset button work you fixed the problem.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:22 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 456
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Get the installer to pay for the electrician you need.
"I had a handyman test the outlets with a voltage tested and he said they were dead.
2. Couples days later granite was being installed "
IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 10:26 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


Honestly, the outlets had issues (no power) before the granite was installed so I cannot blame the installer.
repairlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 11:05 AM   #12
Member
 
deverson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 138
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


If your handyman checked the outlets and found no power present and then found there was power to the wires replace the GFCI.
deverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 11:17 AM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,855
Rewards Points: 2,106
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


Do you have a gfci breaker or standard breaker.
Sounds like a bad gfci to me.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 01:31 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


I don't believe you mentioned checking the breaker for this circuit. Find the breaker, shut it OFF (move the handle to the Left), and then back ON (move handle to the Right)
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 02:35 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Kitchen electrical Issue, maybe GFCI


I did that early on in the process, but thanks for responding.

repairlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble with GFCI tripping - first time electrical ryan112ryan Electrical 8 07-05-2012 08:16 AM
Umm...weird electrical issue newguy1983 Electrical 5 12-14-2011 06:01 PM
Kitchen GFCI outlets beech Electrical 5 08-30-2010 01:38 AM
Unusual electrical issue LosLobo Electrical 7 11-10-2008 01:44 PM
lighting on kitchen gfci allowed? frodo Electrical 48 02-14-2008 04:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.