Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-22-2011, 10:49 AM   #1

Share |

Kitchen electric

How many switches, outlets, lights are allowed on a 20amp circuit?

brettwier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 10:59 AM   #2
Jack of all - master none

Kitchen electric

Kitchens are not quite that simple (which you may know). You need several circuits. At least two 20-amp branch circuits are required to feed receptacle outlets for small appliance loads. Those circuits can't supply anything else. You also can't share a load with a built-in appliance and the countertop outlets. So, you'll need a separate circuit for your lights, built-in appliances (dishwasher, disposal, etc), 2 outlet circuits, and possibly more.

I am not an electrician, but have read quite a bit. I was referencing a guide I have - which may or may not be the most current. I expect a real electrician will be by soon to amend what I stated.

hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hyunelan2 For This Useful Post:
brettwier (02-22-2011)
Old 02-22-2011, 12:40 PM   #3
Scared Electrician

Kitchen electric

hyunelan2 is correct in the essentials. what are you doing that we may give more relevant advice?

however strickly speaking number of anything on a circuit is not a code issue but a design issue. In short there is no limit to the number(100+) of plugs i could put on a circuit, however not a good idea.

Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.

Last edited by Saturday Cowboy; 02-22-2011 at 12:42 PM.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 02:38 PM   #4

Kitchen electric

The kitchen has just one 20amp for the counter outlets, Not enough, I know. I am adding a second one.
I have a seperate circuit for the ceiling lights which I am expanding form 4 to 8.