Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2012, 07:20 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Share |
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


I will be extending the kitchen counter about 6 ft from the last of 4 outlets on a 20A circuit. I assume I must add another GFCI outlet. Can I have 5 outlets on this 20A circuit? I also need an outlet on the island. Can it be on the same circuit?


Last edited by elmaur; 05-10-2012 at 07:24 PM.
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:27 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,318
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


The NEC only requires a minimum of 2 20 amp circuits to serve the countertops.

If the extension will already be downstream of a GFI there is no need for an additional one.

Yes, the island will require at least one GFI protected 120 volt receptacle.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The NEC only requires a minimum of 2 20 amp circuits to serve the countertops.

If the extension will already be downstream of a GFI there is no need for an additional one.

Yes, the island will require at least one GFI protected 120 volt receptacle.
??? So are you saying I need to pull another 12/2 because I am adding the fifth oulet in which case I would put 2 outlets on one circuit and 3 on the other? Does the island outlet have to be on its own circuit?

Edit: I am not sure if you answered that the island can be on one of the 2 20A counter circuits?

Last edited by elmaur; 05-10-2012 at 07:48 PM.
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 07:48 PM   #4
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 221
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by elmaur

??? So are you saying I need to pull another 12/2 because I am adding the fifth oulet in which case I would put 2 outlets on one circuit and 3 on the other? Does the island outlet have to be on its own circuit?
Jim said 2 circuits. Just extend your circuit for your ctop and island and call it a day
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dierte View Post
Jim said 2 circuits. Just extend your circuit for your ctop and island and call it a day
hmm...that sure clears things up. There is just one 20A circuit now. If I extend it I still have one circuit. I don't think that is what you meant. I will run another 12/2 to add the 2nd circuit. I'll have 6 outlets total so I'll do 3 outlets on each and then call it a day... unless somebody objects.
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:49 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


If it's easy to do now then it may be a good idea.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 05:21 AM   #7
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 221
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by elmaur

hmm...that sure clears things up. There is just one 20A circuit now. If I extend it I still have one circuit. I don't think that is what you meant. I will run another 12/2 to add the 2nd circuit. I'll have 6 outlets total so I'll do 3 outlets on each and then call it a day... unless somebody objects.
Missed the part where you said only one circuit.
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 06:46 AM   #8
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


code requires 2 20a rec to serve kitchen/dining/pantry loads and both must be present at the kitchen counters (i dont have the code reference handy)

i would definitely pull a second circuit. and while you are at it, consider dedicated circuits for the microwave (if its an above the range model) and refrigerator
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
code requires 2 20a rec to serve kitchen/dining/pantry loads and both must be present at the kitchen counters (i dont have the code reference handy)

i would definitely pull a second circuit. and while you are at it, consider dedicated circuits for the microwave (if its an above the range model) and refrigerator
I do appreciate everyones help here but as I read, some of the advice is unclear. Someone I was casually talking to about my renovation said something about the island outlet had to be on its own circuit. What you are saying kevinp22 seems to go along with that but maybe not. Do I need 2 20A circuits at the counters plus one for the island or can the 2 counter circuits include the island?
I have dedicated circuits for microwave and refrigerator. No confusion about that!
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 12:58 PM   #10
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,526
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by elmaur View Post
I do appreciate everyones help here but as I read, some of the advice is unclear. Someone I was casually talking to about my renovation said something about the island outlet had to be on its own circuit. What you are saying kevinp22 seems to go along with that but maybe not. Do I need 2 20A circuits at the counters plus one for the island or can the 2 counter circuits include the island?
I have dedicated circuits for microwave and refrigerator. No confusion about that!
The island receptacle may be shared with other countertop circuits, but must be GFCI protected. You need at least two 20A circuits that serve the countertops.
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 01:03 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 145
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
The island receptacle may be shared with other countertop circuits, but must be GFCI protected. You need at least two 20A circuits that serve the countertops.
Well that seems to be clear enough, thank you.
elmaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 02:21 PM   #12
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Default

Kitchen counter and island outlets


Well said househelper. My response wasnt as intuitive as yours.

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.