Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-31-2012, 04:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


Sorry if this is posted somewhere but time is an issue so thanks in advance.

The kiln is rated for 600v at 60 amps. It is heating super slow. What it is hooked up is I believe 480. One leg to ground measured 2** and the other two were 12*. I can't remember the exact numbers. I think it's either getting a step up transformer or changing the elements.

The three hot legs from one 60a breaker run into one relay split into two relays that are feeding the elements. Essentially split. The first relay is basically a safety switch.

So can I isolate the entire 60 amp breaker to one relay, it is rated for 60, and get another breaker for the other relay to give this kiln enough power? Or would the voltage still be insufficient?

Thanks for the help.


Last edited by Torchwork; 05-31-2012 at 04:41 PM.
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:04 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


There's a voltage problem, it sounds like. You have it connected to a "high leg delta" system, which provides 240V between phases (nominal voltages to ground are 120, 208, and 120). If the kiln is rated for 480V, then you're supplying a quarter of the power it requires (half the voltage). Can you post a picture of the kiln's nameplate that shows the rated current and voltage?

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


someone wrote the 120, not sure what is stamped
Attached Thumbnails
Kiln wiring three phase-elec.jpg  
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 05:49 PM   #4
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


If the original elements are still in place, being a Canadian device, i would assume it is meant to be connected to 347/600v, not the 120/240v Delta you have it connected to now.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:10 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Red face

Kiln wiring three phase


I believe this kiln was built for a company in Oregon or washington. Could be wrong. So am I able to give each relay it's own power source instead of splitting one breaker? I have the manufacturers quoting new elements which is not going to be cheap. Or a step up transformer, again not cheap and not educated on those either.
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:16 PM   #6
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,547
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


That is an absolutely massive kiln. It requires a 600V supply. It might be usable on 480V, but at reduced power. You will not be able to use it with your existing service. The transformer that would be required to power it will cost more than the kiln, and your panel probably doesn't even have enough capacity to handle the additional load of about 130A.

I'd say to sell that kiln and get one that works on a 240V supply.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:28 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


I'd like to keep the kiln. lots of work invested so far. There are a lot of amps on this panel that can be sacrificed. So what would adding another 60 breaker do? Half power instead of what's in there now?
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:31 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


And yes this thing is massive. 8'x5'x3' outer dimensions. Sounds like changing the elements to higher resistance is the way to go.
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:34 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


This also isn't the main breaker, I'm about to go see what that's puhshing.
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:34 PM   #10
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


If my math is right, you're going need a 75KVA transformer, and the 240v current required would be roughly 180 amps.


Feeding it with multiple circuits wont change anything, the voltage is the problem.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:54 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


Ok, the meter says 120/480. That's more than my panel has. So that's a little better but I'm still under powered.
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 06:58 PM   #12
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


the 120/480 is just the meter rating, not the actual service voltage, based on the readings you gave in the OP, you have 120/240 Delta(Highleg) service. (~120v "A" or "C" to neutral, ~208v "B" to Neutral ~240v between any phase)
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:05 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


So does the 75kva bring it to 480v or 600v?
Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:14 PM   #14
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 700
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


you would need a 75kva 240/600v transformer
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2012, 07:44 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 19
Default

Kiln wiring three phase


Can't thank you enough. I'm on the hunt for one, or it's changing the elements. Thanks again.

Torchwork is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KILN: 75 Amp, 1 phase - Residential Basement Install luxou812 Electrical 8 02-03-2012 11:39 AM
Three phase transformer question rongaudier Electrical 8 03-08-2011 07:19 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 06:45 PM
electric wiring in house remodel wis_remod Electrical 6 04-02-2009 02:40 PM
3 phase electricity J187 Electrical 11 10-26-2006 01:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.