Keyless Fixtures...What To Do With Ground Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2010, 02:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


When wiring a parallel circuit with keyless fixtures, what do I do w/ ground wire at the end of the circuit? There is no grounding posts on the plastic keyless fixtures and being at the end of the circuit, there is no other runs to join the grounds to. Any help would be appreciated!

Advertisement

Driven2race is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 03:07 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


Just fold it back in the box. DO NOT cut it off short.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 03:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


So no wire nut or electrical tape needed on the exposed ground? Do I fold it back so it touches itself, or just fold it back to keep it out of the way? Should I be worried about it possibly touching the other exposed posts when fixture is pushed up into housing?
Driven2race is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 03:16 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,643
Rewards Points: 1,080
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


Since it's a solid wire, if you fold it into the back of the box, it'll stay there.

Plus, the other wires will help hold it in.

No need to tape it or wirenut it.

Rob
micromind is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 03:17 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven2race View Post
So no wire nut or electrical tape needed on the exposed ground?
Nope.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven2race View Post
Do I fold it back so it touches itself, or just fold it back to keep it out of the way?
It's bare. It doesn't matter if it touches itself. Just make sure it is tucked back enough to not touch the fixture.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Driven2race View Post
Should I be worried about it possibly touching the other exposed posts when fixture is pushed up into housing?
Absolutely. See previous question.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 03:22 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


Awesome, thanks guys!
Driven2race is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2010, 07:42 PM   #7
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


IF the box is not on the end of a run (so there will be 2 or more cables entering the box) be sure to wire nut all the grounds together.

I presume you had done this due to the specificity of your question but just wanted to be sure.


Um, one question though: these are plastic boxes, right?


If they are metal boxes, the ground wire also has to be attached to each box with a ground screw or one of those funky little clips that I hate that clip onto the side of the box.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:38 AM   #8
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Keyless Fixtures...What to do with ground wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
If they are metal boxes, the ground wire also has to be attached to each box with a ground screw or one of those funky little clips that I hate that clip onto the side of the box.
Just to be sure this gets seen! Very important!!!

Advertisement

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water meter ground wire jumper not needed? windowguy Electrical 13 07-21-2009 06:37 PM
Ground wire behind baseboard disx2000 Electrical 8 05-30-2009 12:51 PM
Live ground wire in dryer Retired sailor Electrical 10 05-04-2009 04:26 PM
connecting ground wire to ground screw amakarevic Electrical 10 12-24-2008 05:28 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 02:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts