Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-03-2014, 08:32 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Key card switch for hotel

Hi,
I'm thinking of starting a business where I promote to hotels a key card system that requires the guest to insert key card into a slot to turn the electricity on.
<Link Removed>
However, I'm not an electrician so I don't know how easy/hard it is for the hotel to install it.
Could someone tell me how much effort would be required to install this device. Ideally, I like to install it so that it leaves certain appliances still on e.g. mini bar and some power point.

Last edited by kwikfishron; 01-03-2014 at 11:41 AM.
tamiya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2014, 09:11 AM   #2
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,220

You could sell them, but they would have to hire an electrician licensed for commercial buildings, to install the wiring and box, to allow your people or whoever the hotel hires to connect the units.

It sounds like a neat idea, but you end up with those who are in a rush, and may forget to pull the card out as they leave, or just leave the spare key card in there. It would need a way of sensing if there is a person inside the room, to turn off the lights after a period.

Now the bad side. It would allow someone to go into the system, to see if the room is occupied at that moment or not, which means that there needs to be security measures in place, so that no one without proper access can see those time logs.

It probably would be easier to just switch over to LED lighting, and when housekeeping goes through the room, that they as they have done for ages, turn off or adjust the Heating/Cooling unit to the non-occupied setting, turn off all lights in the room, other than one lower light near the door, that would stay on all the time, for egress purposes.