K&T Insulator - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2013, 02:34 PM   #1
Insatiable Learner
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 156
Cool

K&T Insulator


I have to reroute a K&T wire to a junction box. It needs to go through a top plate. I noticed all of the other wires use a ceramic tube insulator, but none of the stores around me stock these anymore. Does it have to be a ceramic insulator, or can I (for example) just put some heat shrink on the K&T where it runs through the wood? Would any other substitutions work? Thanks.

Advertisement

AngelArs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 02:45 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,138
Rewards Points: 502
Default

K&T Insulator


Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelArs View Post
I have to reroute a K&T wire to a junction box. It needs to go through a top plate. I noticed all of the other wires use a ceramic tube insulator, but none of the stores around me stock these anymore. Does it have to be a ceramic insulator, or can I (for example) just put some heat shrink on the K&T where it runs through the wood? Would any other substitutions work? Thanks.
the substitute would be replace the K&T .... if you touch it ..it crumbles ...

Advertisement

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:01 PM   #3
Insatiable Learner
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 156
Smile

K&T Insulator


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
the substitute would be replace the K&T .... if you touch it ..it crumbles ...
This one is in exceptionally good condition. Looks new.
AngelArs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:36 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,230
Rewards Points: 2,370
Default

K&T Insulator


To be compliant you cannot modify or extend K&T (or any other ungrounded circuit)
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch on K&T wiring - OK to pigtail? fdmillion Electrical 4 01-27-2010 10:15 AM
DriCore as insulator? jefferis Flooring 0 11-11-2009 11:51 AM
How do I decommission section of K&T? Leah Frances Electrical 36 04-21-2009 07:01 PM
Best pipe insulator troyce1 Plumbing 5 01-04-2009 11:29 AM
Omg! K&t!! tinman73 Electrical 1 05-18-2008 10:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts