Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-08-2013, 10:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Carnifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Just want to know if I'm correct...


I work at a church and we are getting a new high output printer. It requires 208/240. The building is run with 3 phase. I was wondering if I am correct in thinking that a double pole 20 breaker with two hots and a ground(earth) is all that needs to be run. I am not doing the work, just wondering if i'm correct. If i am correct, is it also possible to pick up the ground from a passing outlet? Thanks for your know hows!!!

Carnifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:34 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


If you can pick up a ground from another receptacle is iffy. Depends on the wire size among other things. WHY would you need to consider this if you have having a circuit run? The ground will be run with the circuit.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 01:49 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Carnifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Gahh. I just wanted to know if it was safe. I know who is going to do the wiring and i don't like his work. I know he is going to cut corners to save money(because saving money is more important than doing it right and safely...) and i would prefer to not to die because of shoddy electric work. Thanks for the reply
Carnifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 05:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,659
Rewards Points: 2,278
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


We cant say for sure if it is safe !
There are many other factors to consider,
Which you have not told us about.
So the safest way is to run the proper size and type
of wire to the panel and tie into the ground bar there.
Also regulations change from place to place.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 06:59 AM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnifex View Post
Gahh. I just wanted to know if it was safe. I know who is going to do the wiring and i don't like his work. I know he is going to cut corners to save money(because saving money is more important than doing it right and safely...) and i would prefer to not to die because of shoddy electric work. Thanks for the reply
This is a freakin' church! If the guys is not qualified/certified then he should not be doing it.

Depending on where the circuit is run it may also need to have redundant grounding since a church by definition is a place of assembly. The wiring rules are much more stringent.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (09-10-2013), stickboy1375 (09-12-2013)
Old 09-09-2013, 07:44 AM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 511
Rewards Points: 284
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
This is a freakin' church! If the guys is not qualified/certified then he should not be doing it.

Depending on where the circuit is run it may also need to have redundant grounding since a church by definition is a place of assembly. The wiring rules are much more stringent.
Pete,

Could you point me to the redundant ground requirement? Is it new? We are still on the 2008 code.

Thanks,

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:16 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,132
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Is the person who'll be doing the work a licensed electrician?? If not, I would find someone who is. Preferably someone with 3-phase experience.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 04:14 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
Pete,

Could you point me to the redundant ground requirement? Is it new? We are still on the 2008 code.

Thanks,

Mark
Sorry, my mistake. I was headed out the door this AM.
I was thinking Health Care Facility wiring. That requires redundant grounding.
Places of Assembly require conduit or a wiring method with an insulated ground, such as MC cable.

Still, it sounds like the OP needs to get himself a real electrician.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (09-10-2013), Jim Port (09-09-2013)
Old 09-10-2013, 07:50 AM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,731
Rewards Points: 1,068
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Also keep in mind that all conductors of a circuit shall be in the same cable, conduit or raceway. The ground has to be run with the circuit conductors.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 07:42 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Carnifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Hmmm, well the work is being done tonight. The one whos doing is a licensed electrician. Just not a very good one. I will look at it tomorrow and if it looks like something is amiss i will call someone else that i know who does his work correctly. Thanks for all the replies.
Carnifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 04:34 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Carnifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Update

Black white and green solid mc run in a commercial building wired with 3 phase? Is that even code approved?
Carnifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:23 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,920
Rewards Points: 2,236
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnifex View Post
Update

Black white and green solid mc run in a commercial building wired with 3 phase? Is that even code approved?
If he is only using the black and white as hots, and does not need a neutral, it is fine.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:12 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,877
Rewards Points: 2,108
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Carnifex View Post
Update

Black white and green solid mc run in a commercial building wired with 3 phase? Is that even code approved?
Like JBfan says, if it is for single phase 240v or 120V it is fine. Just because the building has 3-phase does not mean all wiring and circuits are 3-phase.

It's good that he's at least using MC cable.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:50 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Carnifex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Ok. So the white can be used as a hot. Good to know. The device doesnt need the neutral so just run the black and white to a 240v breaker and the correct style of outlet. Ok makes sense now lol. As you can tell i know next to nothing about commercial/3 phase wiring. I hope to be accepted into a commercial apprenticeship within the next year so I'm sure i'll be learning all this in much greater detail, but I'm impatient and wanted to understand now, so thanks for putting up with my ignorance
Carnifex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 03:06 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Just want to know if I'm correct...


Per NEC 200.7, any white-insulated conductor that is not being used as a grounded conductor (neutral) needs to have colored tape or paint or similar at the breaker and receptacle terminals. this is to avoid confusing it with other white conductors in the wiring system that are being used as neutrals.

itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 phase, commercial, double pole breaker


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct to HOT/NEU Reverse in camper. jpaytoncfd Electrical 6 07-20-2012 01:16 AM
Need Advice on how to Correct Low Water Pressure Joe Tilghman Plumbing 51 04-13-2012 01:11 PM
What correct mix for building a stone foundation wall? & correct mix for stone fireplace. world travler Building & Construction 0 08-04-2011 07:39 PM
IS it correct? allawi Building & Construction 3 11-09-2009 07:49 AM
Correct oil level in Bristol compressor Aptguy HVAC 5 08-26-2009 10:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.