Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2014, 04:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Just moved to Livermore, CA


I'm told the power available at the house from PG&E is "90 amp".

The panel that is now installed in the house has a total of 8 breaker slots, most of which are utilized by half-size breakers to get more circuits.

If I was going to have this panel ripped out and replaced with something more modern with more breaker space what would I have installed? As far as I know you get 100amp or 200amp panels for residential applications and that's about it.

Is installing a 100amp panel legal if the service is only 90 amp?

Many thanks for giving this a look!

Fortyniner1340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 04:47 PM   #2
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,405
Default

Just moved to Livermore, CA


Who told you the service from PG&E is only 90 amps ?
Are you sure they did not say that the house service is 90 amps ?

If you call PG&E, the service planner should be able to tell you what your drop is rated for.

There are a lot of 150 amp panels out there, not just 100 or 200's.

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 05:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Just moved to Livermore, CA


My inspector told me abut the 90 amp thing. He said it had to do with the wiring (direct burial) from the street into the house.

Guess I don't understand the distinction between PG&E service and house service. The discussion I remember had to do with upgrading the wiring from the street to the house which would require a backhoe and trenching across the street. Messy business.
Fortyniner1340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 06:01 PM   #4
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,405
Default

Just moved to Livermore, CA


First thing, do NOT trust the home inspector comment. While he might know what he is talking about, many of them do not. They often attempt to apply NEC rules to POCO facilities. (NEC does not apply to the POCO (in your case PG&E)).

Assuming that you have direct burial cable, that is an oddball. PG&E standards call for conduit for underground service.

Call the service planner and let him know what you are thinking about, and see what he tells you. Last I knew, your service planer (or Project Coordinator) was located there in Livermore.
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 11:59 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Just moved to Livermore, CA


Thanks very much. I'll follow up with my service planner.
Fortyniner1340 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice on a wall that was moved. racer220 Building & Construction 5 10-25-2011 04:32 PM
The House We've Just Moved Into Eutopia Building & Construction 13 10-11-2011 06:39 PM
Can this wall be moved? Advocate Building & Construction 8 03-28-2011 11:09 PM
I moved an electrical outlet. luweee Electrical 2 06-08-2009 08:20 AM
Moved thermostat, now no heat GeauxCajuns82 HVAC 4 02-03-2009 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.