Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-20-2010, 11:49 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 150

Just learning on how it works..

For example, I have one power outlet on a wall. If I wanted to add another one on the same wall 10 ft' down, would I splice/solder the black/white line, add an extension (3rd line) to the other power outlet like this:

I'm just trying to see how a whole house is wired. Any good diagrams/instructions from the web?

Again, I am not doing any electrical work. I am just learning by myself.

llckll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 12:30 PM   #2

In other words, adding a new outlet to an existing power line. Would I use pigtail wiring? How does that work?

Old 01-20-2010, 12:32 PM   #3
Learning by Doing

Rewards Points: 2,000

Get Electrical Wiring Residential (Mullin - get one based on the 2008 NEC). And start reading. It is essentially a text book for electricians and is my bible for planning and executing good work.

If you are really interested in learning about this you need a more directed approach than surfing the web. The idea you have about splicing/soldering would not be ok for anything other than a few specialized situations. There is simply too much information for you to glean the right info by picking and choosing from what you find online.
Old 01-20-2010, 12:36 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 500
Wink

llckll (Poster #1, Original Poster) You may be right about the method of splicing that you showed in the lower right corner of the illustration, that it was used in "Knob-and-Tube" wiring. It is also called the "Western Union" splice. It is no longer used today. My father showed me this method of splicing (which he used himself) Some years ago!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 12:38 PM   #5

What method is used today to tap an existing power line to install a new power receptacle?
Old 01-20-2010, 12:46 PM   #6