Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-30-2014, 09:56 AM   #1
Member
 
wixman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


I just replaced an electrical box - it's a plastic cut in box. My tester is saying 'Open Ground' - is that ok for a plastic box? I've read that plastic boxes don't need grounding

wixman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:01 AM   #2
Member
 
seansy59's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NJ, US
Posts: 292
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


Plastic isn't conductive...just stating the obvious...

What kind of cable is feeding the receptacle?

2 wire or 3 wire? Cloth covered? If it is a 3 wire, and you have no ground still...then your ground wire is fake...

If it is 2 wire, you cannot put a 3 prong receptacle in...it must be 2 prong, or a GFCI outlet labeled (No equipment ground)

If it is a fake ground, back to a 2 wire outlet...and check your other outlets...because someone might of done the whole house like that, which is dangerous...


You DO have the ground wire connected to the outlet ground, right?

seansy59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:02 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,977
Rewards Points: 3,070
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


What type wiring do you have and how many wires?
Was there a metal box with metal conduit before?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:09 AM   #4
Member
 
wixman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


It was a 2 gang metal box before nailed to the stud with metal conduit. I'm pretty sure it's 2 wire, but I can double check. There's 2 black and 2 white coming in, and 2 short wires bridging across the receptacles. I noticed when old box was removed, and the power was back on my patio lights weren't working.

I don't know a great deal (anything) about electrical work
wixman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:12 AM   #5
Member
 
wixman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


Oh and it's not cloth covered. This is in the room attached to our garage
wixman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:53 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,852
Rewards Points: 2,498
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


The metal conduit was the ground. Put a metal box back in and ground to the box. All should be well.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-30-2014), Stubbie (01-30-2014)
Old 01-30-2014, 11:06 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wixman View Post
It was a 2 gang metal box before nailed to the stud with metal conduit. I'm pretty sure it's 2 wire, but I can double check. There's 2 black and 2 white coming in, and 2 short wires bridging across the receptacles. I noticed when old box was removed, and the power was back on my patio lights weren't working.

I don't know a great deal (anything) about electrical work
That has nothing to do with the box grounding. Just do as joed explained and be sure the metal conduit is fastened to the metal box properly.

Why did you change out the metal box to plastic ?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 11:28 AM   #8
Member
 
wixman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


Thanks guys! I'll take care of this tomorrow. I guess I needed to replace the box, and wasn't aware of any difference between plastic and metal.
wixman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 03:23 PM   #9
Member
 
wixman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


I did it! It says CORRECT now!

I can't tell you how happy this makes me!

Thanks!
wixman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 05:00 PM   #10
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


You could have just used a bonding bushing if you wanted to use the plastic box.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 10:25 PM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,041
Rewards Points: 2,052
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You could have just used a bonding bushing if you wanted to use the plastic box.
I thought about that but somehow I got the picture that he probably didn't have a plastic box that would accept conduit. He just had the individual wires exiting the conduit and then coming into the plastic box through a knock out tab or holding tab like on a carlon blue.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 12:10 AM   #12
Member
 
wixman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I thought about that but somehow I got the picture that he probably didn't have a plastic box that would accept conduit. He just had the individual wires exiting the conduit and then coming into the plastic box through a knock out tab or holding tab like on a carlon blue.
Correct!
wixman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 06:07 AM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I thought about that but somehow I got the picture that he probably didn't have a plastic box that would accept conduit. He just had the individual wires exiting the conduit and then coming into the plastic box through a knock out tab or holding tab like on a carlon blue.
Yeah, guess i was fixated on the fact that you 'could' do it, but not how the OP 'had' done it...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Stubbie (01-31-2014)
Old 01-31-2014, 06:14 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Just installed new electrical box - open ground?


I'm still wondering why he was replacing the box.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
open ground power loss scooter91 Electrical 7 09-27-2011 11:16 AM
Electrical Panel - Ground Bar/Wiring and Safety cfreak Electrical 31 09-11-2011 08:10 AM
Moving electrical dryer - Ground gives off 'hot' signal markkuss Electrical 8 12-23-2010 01:22 PM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM
Above Ground Pool+Deck Electrical Install (Ontario, Canada) hecubus Electrical 5 08-02-2008 01:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.