Just Got Started - Electrical - Page 5 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 10:19 PM   #61
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
well i've read back through some posts, some of which are quite old......and there were a few (i don't recall the post titles, but they were quite old anyhow) where people were running NM and it was instead "suggested" that they didn't run NM in interior areas and ran conduit instead....
Some people can't accept that its safe without some other means of protection, because they think people throw axes around their house, I seriously can't answer your question on why people think what they think, but I never use any other means of protection unless the NEC strictly addresses it.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:22 PM   #62
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,674
Rewards Points: 2,650
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
well i've read back through some posts, some of which are quite old......and there were a few (i don't recall the post titles, but they were quite old anyhow) where people were running NM and it was instead "suggested" that they didn't run NM in interior areas and ran conduit instead....

I assumed that NM was the standard, as it is around here.....i've been in hundreds of homes (real estate broker) and I don't think i've ever seen one wired with anything but a vast majority of NM......just wondering if its different in different regions of the country and world?
That might be a local thing.....like in Chicago....there you have to use that armored stuff.....and it all has to be done by a licensed (union) electrian.....

NM is a great product...especially the newer stuff...protective cover is pretty tough...but easy to strip off....and slids through holes easy....

In my case, I used a lot of stranded because I had some runs that were about 75-80'....and not easy (translation, holes in the wall) to run. It was easier to install conduit in my new foundation that would get it to the existing house.

Boy...did I use a lot of stranded....almost 1000' of each color....but I do have a couple spare ckts tossed in....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:30 PM   #63
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Just got started


K.....thats what I kind of thought.....secondary question....i'm putting outlets on the joists in the ceiling of my shop. Ok to use the blue pvc nail on boxes?
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:35 PM   #64
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
K.....thats what I kind of thought.....secondary question....i'm putting outlets on the joists in the ceiling of my shop. Ok to use the blue pvc nail on boxes?
Yes. That's fine.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:36 PM   #65
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,674
Rewards Points: 2,650
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
K.....thats what I kind of thought.....secondary question....i'm putting outlets on the joists in the ceiling of my shop. Ok to use the blue pvc nail on boxes?
Oh no.....now youv'e done it.....plastic vs metal......only thing worse you could do we be to ask how much......
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:40 PM   #66
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Just got started


LOL......well my main concern is it code compliant.....not so much is it popular....
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:40 PM   #67
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Just got started


If your shop is in a basement or garage the receptacles have to be GFI protected.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:41 PM   #68
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
If your shop is in a basement or garage the receptacles have to be GFI protected.

All my recepticals in the basement need to be GFCI? None currently are......
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:45 PM   #69
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,674
Rewards Points: 2,650
Default

Just got started


Ok....I'll 'try' to be serious for a moment.....

I like plastic because they are cheap and easy to install....but I only use them in my house for low 'stress' applications....i.e., light switches, regular outlets...etc.

Ceiling? If it's just for a smoke detector...fine...but for a ceiling light or ceiling fan? Metal.

I used plastic boxes for my garage outlets. In retrospect, I wish I had used metal. My garage use involves tools with slightly heavier cords....which means they ALL have the ground pin...takes a bit more force to get them in and out and you can see that plastic box moving just a bit.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:49 PM   #70
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl

All my recepticals in the basement need to be GFCI? None currently are......
Current codes dictate that all 120v rec in unfinished basements be GFI protected.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:51 PM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Current codes dictate that all 120v rec in unfinished basements be GFI protected.

What if its in a finished section?
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:56 PM   #72
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Just got started


Current codes would say that those would need AFCI protection, but that didn't take affect until 2008 or so.

Before that, no protection necessary...AFCI or GFI.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 10:57 PM   #73
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,674
Rewards Points: 2,650
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan50hrl View Post
What if its in a finished section?
Covered walls and anything other than bare concrete for a floor.

In other words, GFI's are required anywhere there is concrete or dirt on the floor. Concrete is actually pretty conductive....

Most 'unfinished' basements have concrete floors....and bare walls are concrete or block. When you 'finish' a basement, most of this is usually covered.
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:01 PM   #74
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Fox Valley, WI
Posts: 214
Rewards Points: 164
Default

Just got started


Good to know....i'll keep that all in mind....
ryan50hrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:07 PM   #75
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

Just got started


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Covered walls and anything other than bare concrete for a floor.

In other words, GFI's are required anywhere there is concrete or dirt on the floor. Concrete is actually pretty conductive....

Most 'unfinished' basements have concrete floors....and bare walls are concrete or block. When you 'finish' a basement, most of this is usually covered.
Im going to disagree with you, I would call painting the walls a finished room, therefore no GFCI protection required. Exposed concrete or not... Lets not throw in our own opinions on what 'we' think the code should require.

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 5 year old composition roof started leaking boogiebuild Roofing/Siding 6 01-15-2011 08:40 PM
Started Exposed Brick Wall, Studs within brick, should I stop? perry167 Building & Construction 4 01-05-2011 10:41 AM
Started removing popcorn ceilings then found out there was 2% asbestos. Am I at harm? Peawhy Remodeling 15 12-30-2010 01:05 PM
Have you started your xmas decorations yet? StyleRoom Interior Decorating 2 12-02-2009 10:35 AM
Got started! rodsteryz Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 6 02-09-2009 01:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts