Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 10:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Have 200 amp service. Installing a subpanel in attached garage. Distance is 35 feet. 17 feet in attic. 60 amp breaker in main box. 100 amp breaker in subpanel(used as disconnect). Running 6-3 romex. Seperate ground and neutral. No ground rod at subpanel. Sound OK? thanks

jhsatt667 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 11:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Bluefield, VA (SW VA)
Posts: 45
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Sounds kosher to me

mterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:02 PM   #3
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Looks good to me 6-3 romex - w G should be good up to 80 amps.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:06 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Quote:
Originally Posted by TTW View Post
Looks good to me 6-3 romex - w G should be good up to 80 amps.
Nope, only good to 55 Amps. Depending on what you are installing in the sub panel, use a 50A breaker.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 05:32 PM   #5
TTW
Member
 
TTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Maine
Posts: 350
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


55 amps by table 310.15(B)(16) in raceway cable or earth
80 amps by table 310.15(B)(17) free air

I think I used the wrong table. I stand corrected, thank you.
TTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:01 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,781
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Romex is limited to the 60 degree column
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:44 PM   #7
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 147
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Quote:
Originally Posted by jhsatt667 View Post
Have 200 amp service. Installing a subpanel in attached garage. Distance is 35 feet. 17 feet in attic. 60 amp breaker in main box. 100 amp breaker in subpanel(used as disconnect). Running 6-3 romex. Seperate ground and neutral. No ground rod at subpanel. Sound OK? thanks
In addition to replacing the 60 amp with a 50 amp, this leads to an interesting question. Can a 100 amp breaker be used in the sub as a disco when the feeder breaker (and wire) is not 100 amp?
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:48 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,781
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
In addition to replacing the 60 amp with a 50 amp, this leads to an interesting question. Can a 100 amp breaker be used in the sub as a disco when the feeder breaker (and wire) is not 100 amp?
Not a problem, and you can use the 60 amp breaker, because there is not a 55 amp breaker.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:13 PM   #9
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 147
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Not a problem, and you can use the 60 amp breaker, because there is not a 55 amp breaker.
Thanks for the info, I've always matched the subpanel breaker to the feeder breaker (when they wanted a sub disco.) Do you happen to know the code reference on that one?
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 07:18 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,781
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
Thanks for the info, I've always matched the subpanel breaker to the feeder breaker (when they wanted a sub disco.) Do you happen to know the code reference on that one?
Somewhere in the office, and football is on.


As long as the wire feeding the panel is properly protected, you can have any size breaker in the panel.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
diystephen (11-24-2012)
Old 11-24-2012, 08:11 PM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,005
Default

just to double check (subpanel)


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
Thanks for the info, I've always matched the subpanel breaker to the feeder breaker (when they wanted a sub disco.) Do you happen to know the code reference on that one?
240.4(b) 2008 NEC
408.36 2008 NEC

Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
diystephen (11-24-2012), jbfan (11-24-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 09:50 AM
Please double check my tstat wiring firedogut HVAC 1 10-14-2009 04:47 AM
Subpanel for now, convert to 2nd main panel later? abmiller67 Electrical 2 08-27-2009 01:44 PM
Reverse Polarity at the Subpanel adm060306 Electrical 14 07-09-2007 12:58 PM
Subpanel to Shed - Check my plan NateHanson Electrical 9 04-26-2007 09:56 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.