Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2008, 10:57 AM   #1
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Share |
Default

Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??


Originally I had bought a pool/spa subpanel from lowes made by "midwest electrics" it came with a 50a GE, GFCIB plus two more blank slots too which I added two 15a GFCIB's for pool light and receptcales. The 50a was going to power my pump (remember this came with the box) however it is WAY too big. My pump is a two speed 220v 2.5hp that only draws 11.5 and 4.2 (high/low)

So I am pulling the 50a GFCIB and replacing with double throw 20A. Since I can't find a double throw 20a GFCIB locally I think I am going to go with a regular double throw 220 breaker. If not mistaken article 680 only requires GFCIB for cord and plug applications, but I see nothing REQUIRING GFCIB for hard wired applications. But then again I see nothing that says its OK either...... Thoughts?? Thanks, Al

Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:28 AM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??


680.22(5) GFCI Protection, Receptacles that supply pool pump motors must have GFCI protection, so if you hardwire it your good to go....

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:29 AM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,008
Default

Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??


The code is mute on gfci for hardwired pump so it is not required. Are you going to use the CB for the disconnect or a switch like below? Disregard the other stuff

Also do you have the link to swimming pools and article 680 from Mike Holt? If not here it is you will have to scrool down to the article after the intro on art.90.

http://www.mikeholt.com/files/PDF/Pooldownload.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??-hard-wired-pool-pump.jpg  

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-10-2008 at 11:40 AM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:46 AM   #4
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??


Stubbie,

Yes I have Mike Holt's 680 thanks. Yes I am using the CB as the disconnect, is this a problem
Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:56 AM   #5
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,008
Default

Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??


No it isn't I just like switches but it is fine to use the cb as long as it is close by.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 12:13 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,008
Default

Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??


I'm sorry AL i should clarify.....as long as it is insight and not more than 50 feet away. I would prefer them to be close by the pump because you will be turning it off and on a lot for various reasons.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 12:28 PM   #7
Oldbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 51
Default

Just to confirm, no GFCI needed for hard wired pool pump..right??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I'm sorry AL i should clarify.....as long as it is insight and not more than 50 feet away. I would prefer them to be close by the pump because you will be turning it off and on a lot for various reasons.

Stubbie, The subpanel I got has a nice little access door for the breakers (just the size of the 4 breakers 2"x6") that is built in the main access panel of the sub. It is convienent. The box is black and I am lableing the small door in read "Pump Shutoff". The Sub is facing the pool, on the exterior of my house 5 feet from the ground, 21 feed from the pool in very plain view. Thanks for everything.

Al the Diy guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool Wiring phinfan1266 Electrical 4 06-27-2006 02:31 PM
GFI Breaker & pool pump mitchman333 Electrical 7 05-08-2006 05:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.