Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2008, 03:16 PM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


358.26 States: "There shall not be more than the equivalent of four quarter bends (360 degrees total) between pull points"

When a long run that requires more than 4 quarter bends, do I just add a small junction box, like a 4"x4" metal box for a piece of 3/4" EMT that has 3 - #6 running through it without junctioning.

Thanks
Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 03:30 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,149
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


You nailed it on the head. Once you have more then 360degrees of bend you need a junction box(or in this case a pull box). There is no need to make joints in here(you can if you want) it will just make it easirer for pulling.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 03:44 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


along with darrens advice, I add;

you do not have to wait until after 360 of bends. Engineer your work so the pull box is where it benefits you. The limitation is no more than 360 between pull points; there is no minimum.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:04 PM   #4
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


Thanks guys for the help. I will look for theose pull boxes and see what they cost. I have been using a lot of 4"x4" metal boxes that accept a 1/2" or 3/4" connection, I have been getting them for $2. I bet a pull box is easier to use with the additional space.

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:24 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Thanks guys for the help. I will look for theose pull boxes and see what they cost. I have been using a lot of 4"x4" metal boxes that accept a 1/2" or 3/4" connection, I have been getting them for $2. I bet a pull box is easier to use with the additional space.

Jamie
a pull box is merely a term. Those boxes you have been using can be used as a junction box or a pull box. A pull box, or point, is merely someplace where you can pull the wire from or too.

You can continue to use those boxes or any sized box you want to use.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:26 PM   #6
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,623
Rewards Points: 1,040
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


Any type of box will do. You can use a 4 square, a single-gang handy box, even a 'C' condulet. When you connect the conduit to the box, if you make the two conduits in line with each other, you'll be able to pull the whole run straight through. This saves time, and eliminates the possibility of skinning the insulation off of the wires.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 05:33 PM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
a pull box is merely a term. Those boxes you have been using can be used as a junction box or a pull box. A pull box, or point, is merely someplace where you can pull the wire from or too.

You can continue to use those boxes or any sized box you want to use.
Oh ok, Good, Thanks. I just searched for Pull Box and saw some photos of these larger square boxes with a hinged cover that are about 8"x8" and 4" deep or so. I have seen many of them used in commercial.

Thanks for the clarification.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 08:15 AM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,149
Rewards Points: 514
Default

Junction for too many conduit turns?


pull box is just a term not an actual product.

Pull Box=Junction Box
Junction Box=Pull Box

Use one of your 4x4 and put it were it is most conveniant to you.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Conduit Fill and Derating jamiedolan Electrical 73 11-18-2008 11:36 PM
Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit? WoodworkerDave Electrical 10 09-29-2008 05:57 PM
Conduit Fill & Ampacity capndave Electrical 37 03-26-2008 02:16 PM
Pvc Conduit bobo60 Electrical 1 11-14-2007 09:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.