Junction Splicing - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2014, 08:29 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Junction splicing


Quote:
Originally Posted by cincinnati guy View Post
Thanks guys! I am no professional electrician.
Say it ain't so.

Advertisement

Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 03:18 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 139
Default

Junction splicing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Know A Little View Post
Say it ain't so.

Least I made it right, and not be like some and just leave it!
cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 09:26 AM   #18
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

Junction splicing


Better, but still a long way from "right".

1) Even though you went the two-box route, you still do not have the required 6" of free conductor.

2) You need a listed connector for tying the equipment grounding conductors together.

3) It appears that you wrapped the EGC the wrong way around the screw.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 01:09 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 217
Rewards Points: 209
Default

Junction splicing


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
Looks like a hack-job extraordinaire. You asked.

Mark
I hear there is alot of hackwork going on in cincinnati
Cletis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 04:18 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 139
Default

Junction splicing


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
Better, but still a long way from "right".

1) Even though you went the two-box route, you still do not have the required 6" of free conductor.

2) You need a listed connector for tying the equipment grounding conductors together.

3) It appears that you wrapped the EGC the wrong way around the screw.

Mark
I will make sure to use a wire nut on the ground, and will fix the twist on the one wire, I do see what your saying I see its twisted wrong. As for the 6" im curious why it has to be 6" and again I guess I need a tape measure and fix it.
cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 05:10 AM   #21
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 518
Rewards Points: 298
Default

Junction splicing


Quote:
Originally Posted by cincinnati guy View Post
I will make sure to use a wire nut on the ground, and will fix the twist on the one wire, I do see what your saying I see its twisted wrong. As for the 6" im curious why it has to be 6" and again I guess I need a tape measure and fix it.
The requirement is at least 6" total length and at least 3" past the front of the box. The length is required to give working length even after a few reworkings of the box.

Let me say that you are a rarity in just accepting and fixing Code violations on this site. Most others ignore or try to argu their way out of them.

Mark
__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 02:38 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 139
Default

Junction splicing


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post
The requirement is at least 6" total length and at least 3" past the front of the box. The length is required to give working length even after a few reworkings of the box.

Let me say that you are a rarity in just accepting and fixing Code violations on this site. Most others ignore or try to argu their way out of them.

Mark
The way I see it, if there are "Rules" they are there for a reason!

Advertisement

cincinnati guy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to cincinnati guy For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (06-17-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Splicing Branch Circuit in Junction Box Question clegane Electrical 9 04-27-2014 12:47 PM
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 03:37 PM
Was splicing to knob and tube outside a junction box ever legal? WillK Electrical 6 01-26-2011 01:50 PM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 10:52 PM
Junction Boxes & Splicing Romex TX Recon Electrical 1 10-28-2009 05:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts