Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2008, 04:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Share |
Default

Junction Question?


Hi;
Does code allow me to run the following configuration:

Breaker > Outlet 1 + Pigtail in outlet box > outlet 2 + Pigtail in outlet box > Junction Box > Outlet 3, Outlet 4 (both from junction box)

For some reason, I suspect this is not allowed, but going to junction box first, then daisy-chain outlets is OK.

I can do either way, might end up with a junction box in a closet (which I don't like, but is probably OK as long as it's accessible)

Thanks for your input

FW

fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 05:26 PM   #2
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Default

Junction Question?


It is perfectly acceptable as long as the junction box is TOTALLY ACCESSABLE.

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 06:09 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

Junction Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyAndy View Post
It is perfectly acceptable as long as the junction box is TOTALLY ACCESSABLE.
By totally accessible, I assume that means in a closet, etc as long as there is no permanent fixture/structure blocking access to it.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 06:20 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

Junction Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fw2007 View Post
By totally accessible, I assume that means in a closet, etc as long as there is no permanent fixture/structure blocking access to it.

FW
Totally accessible means you can open it without smashing drywall or demolishing something to get to it.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 09:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

Junction Question?


OK. So, you're saying that my feed can come first into an outlet box, have a pigtail with wires coming off for the outlet,. and continue on to a regular (4" square) junction box?

I think that the reasoning behind my question concerning the order of boxes comes from when we used to use the receptacle itself to make a daisy-chain splice.
While I understand this method is still allowed, I don't use it. I prefer to splice with wirenuts in the outlet box, and have only the two wires + ground going to the receptacle.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2008, 09:33 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

Junction Question?


Why wouldn't you continue from outlet to outlet without the jbox?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:23 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

Junction Question?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Why wouldn't you continue from outlet to outlet without the jbox?
You're right. It's kind of silly. I was just thinking that having a J-box in the attic would save 9' of wire for the outlets. Rethinking the concept, I will just go from outlet to outlet.
If I put a J-box in the attic, it needs to be on a main wall or a roof rafter, and that's going to add length to the wire run anyway.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 09:56 AM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,397
Default

Junction Question?


Every point of connecton is a potential point of failure. The less joints the better. I prefer to make the connections on the receptacles. In Canada we count wire nuts in box fill.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2008, 10:14 AM   #9
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 830
Default

Junction Question?


only time i run to a junction box before distro is when pulling a main trunk a long long distance. for example, from panel in basement to attic is one wire and terminated in a junction box in attic. from this box to room just below attic is then distrobuted.

keep in mind that this attic junction must have >= 1meter space above box and be accessible.

i do this just incase there is a problem with the wiring in the room in the future... then i can just remove the one wire and don't have to remove the trunk which is a pain.

but.. every junction box = possible failure point as previous poster said. so you must weigh your options carefully.

Knucklez
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 10:56 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Default

Junction Question?


Thanks for the heads up about 1m space above the J-box. I was thinking I could put one on the roof rafter, but I guess not. It would have to go on an outside wall.
I am going to just go from outlet to outlet instead.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2008, 11:03 AM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,697
Default

Junction Question?


In the US there is no requirment to keep the area clear for 1 meter. The j-box can be mounted to the top of the rafters if you choose.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 09:30 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
wire junction code question wfischer Electrical 9 03-01-2008 09:21 AM
Junction Box Wiring Question mattbing Electrical 3 12-03-2007 10:49 PM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.