Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 02:56 PM   #16
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1...atalogId=10053

and a 2 1/8 deep 4" Square box will work well.

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (06-10-2011)
Old 06-10-2011, 03:39 PM   #17
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lesp View Post
Sirsparksalot, I don't think any of the pro's have said not to do a recessed install. I too, like the aesthetics better of a recessed box.
For an oven and/or cooktop???
WHAT aesthetics? You can't see the box.

Whatever floats your boat.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (06-10-2011)
Old 06-10-2011, 04:54 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
For an oven and/or cooktop???
WHAT aesthetics? You can't see the box.

Whatever floats your boat.
I cannot stand to see a damn flush mounted receptacle. I got one for the Range, 'cept it ain't behind the stove anymore cause I relocated the stove 1-1/2' to the right. Ugly sucker, it is.

It floats my boat really well to have 'em flushed
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:32 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


How often do you pull out you wall oven to gripe about the box? And how often do you climb inside the base cabinet to look at your cooktop box?
And if the receptacle for a range is in the right spot do you lose sleep over the fact that it is not flush?
All seems kind of silly to me.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
electures (06-10-2011)
Old 06-11-2011, 01:46 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: WA State
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


Wow -- didn't expect this to generate such strong opinions. I was simply figuring that having a flush mounted box would take up less space in the cooktop base cabinet. And in the wall oven cabinet, I figured it would allow for more flexibility if I ever needed to reposition the wall oven slightly higher or lower.

I went to the electric supply house today and they set me up with the following:
- 4" square junction box with side bracket
- 1/2" deep mud ring
- single gang cover plate with 1/2" KO
- 1/2" flex connect for the MC appliance whip

So, that should do -- hope the inspector likes it. Thanks everyone for your input -- this forum is very helpful!
lesp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to lesp For This Useful Post:
sirsparksalot (06-11-2011)
Old 06-11-2011, 05:25 AM   #21
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lesp View Post
Wow -- didn't expect this to generate such strong opinions. I was simply figuring that having a flush mounted box would take up less space in the cooktop base cabinet. And in the wall oven cabinet, I figured it would allow for more flexibility if I ever needed to reposition the wall oven slightly higher or lower.
Points of interest/question:

The base cabinet under a cooktop is typically not an area where this is a big deal. The box is usually tucked up near the unit so it is rarely if ever visible, let alone in the way.

And how would you ever propose to "reposition" a wall oven??? They are installed in dedicated spaces with NO room for adjustment. Moving a wall oven means renovation.


I make these points because as you are finding out, using a flush box in these two instances is not the most convenient or logical thing, and all for pretty much NO valid reason.
Just MHPO.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:41 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


I'm with Speedy. I get all excited and anal about precision centering of a vanity light over a sink and if a set of recessed cans are aligned to within a millimeter of where they need to be.

I've hooked up a gazillion appliances. As long as it is code compliant and installed in a neat and orderly manner then who really gives a crap?
AndyinAtl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:53 AM   #23
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,587
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Junction boxes for appliances?


Most ovens only have certain areas where the box will even fit. Careful planning is needed to make sure the cables and boxes will fit. It definitely pays to read the installation instructions.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 09:30 AM
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 08:40 PM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM
Junction Boxes & Splicing Romex TX Recon Electrical 1 10-28-2009 04:28 PM
Mounting junction boxes in attic, are both of these locations acceptable? diymonkey Electrical 33 04-09-2009 07:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.