Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2013, 09:22 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Share |
Default

junction boxes


Also,do dining room outlets have to remain dedicated ?.
Can you junction off them ?

On the 12guage 20 amp circuit I had 6 outlets and added 5 .

Thanks for the input!

hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 04:40 AM   #17
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


13 outlets per 20 amp circuit .... ie ...180va per duplex outlet = 2340 va/2340watts ..

20 amp circuit is 2400 watts >>>>120v x 20amps ( ohms law )
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:47 AM   #18
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,615
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden 1
Also,do dining room outlets have to remain dedicated ?.
Can you junction off them ?

On the 12guage 20 amp circuit I had 6 outlets and added 5 .

Thanks for the input!
There is no limit to the number of receptacles on a SABC.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (06-08-2013)
Old 06-08-2013, 08:39 AM   #19
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden 1 View Post
Also,do dining room outlets have to remain dedicated ?.
Can you junction off them ?

On the 12guage 20 amp circuit I had 6 outlets and added 5 .

Thanks for the input!
what did that circuit supply ????
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:29 AM   #20
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
if you are adding circuits ... 13 for 20 amp

220.14(I)
220.14 (J) is for dwelling units
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 09:48 AM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
220.14 (J) is for dwelling units
did u actually read that section ??? to see what it is reffering too ??? all the code referenced ???
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 10:34 AM   #22
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

junction boxes


220.14 (I) Recepticale outlets. Except as covered in 220.14(J) and (K), recepticale outlets shall be calulated at not less than 180 volt-amperes for each single or for each multiple recepticle on one yoke. ..........

(J) dwelling occupancies
(k) banks and office buildings

what am I missing?
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (06-08-2013)
Old 06-08-2013, 12:46 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
220.14 Other Loads All Occupancies. In all occupancies, the minimum load for each outlet for general-use receptacles and outlets not used for general illumination shall not be less than that calculated in 220.14(A) through (L), the loads shown being based on nominal branch-circuit voltages.



I assumed junction box here in this thread to mean outlets ..LOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
220.14 Other Loads All Occupancies. In all occupancies, the minimum load for each outlet for general-use receptacles and outlets not used for general illumination shall not be less than that calculated in 220.14(A) through (L), the loads shown being based on nominal branch-circuit voltages.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
if you are adding circuits ... 13 for 20 amp

220.14(I)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
I stated "if you are adding circuits" .. so they would not have been in the original load calulations ...


what am I missing?[/QUOTE]


What point are u trying to make ....since 220.14 starts out saying All occupency's?????
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 01:39 PM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
did u actually read that section ??? to see what it is reffering too ??? all the code referenced ???
I'm not wasting my time arguing with you, but i'll tell you that you are simply wrong again, you can have as many receptacles on a circuit as you want in residential.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
electures (06-08-2013), Jim Port (06-09-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (06-08-2013)
Old 06-08-2013, 02:12 PM   #25
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


We choose not to do it that way ...just to save a buck......you may do as you wish ....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:14 PM   #26
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
We choose not to do it that way ...just to save a buck......you may do as you wish ....
Lol, you're spending someone else's money, people don't generally like that fact when you do it for your own this is better mentality.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 02:35 PM   #27
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
We choose not to do it that way ...just to save a buck......you may do as you wish ....
I never said I'll do the entire house, normally 8 to 10 openings to a circuit.
My inspectors tell me I "over wire a house".


And yes I have read the articles ....... without skipping the first sentence of 220.14(I)

It may be a local ammendment that requires you to use the 180va per receptacle, even in residential.
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 05:45 PM   #28
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
I never said I'll do the entire house, normally 8 to 10 openings to a circuit.
My inspectors tell me I "over wire a house".


And yes I have read the articles ....... without skipping the first sentence of 220.14(I)

It may be a local ammendment that requires you to use the 180va per receptacle, even in residential.
I think we at least agree on that ..lol
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 05:57 PM   #29
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Using the "minimum" calculations on some houses we do.....2500 sq. ft. useable ..would equal 7500 watts ... 4 20 amp circuits .....

Now also we put for argument sake 50 6" cans in, so that would be in excess of 3000 watts ...

Remember it is a minimum guideline ... I see lots of people do all kinda stuff ....so here recommending to a DIY .. I would rather er on the side of better not minimum...just like we do with our customers...

Yes I will be in school next fri .. For CEU .....
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 07:45 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Default

junction boxes


Back to original question...yes it has dining recepticles and a fridge on it .before fridge and outlets its junctioned again to bedroom outlets..is a 70s home also..
Is it required to be on dedicated circuit in dining room 20amp?

hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is difference between ceiling and attic for junction boxes? Mallethead Electrical 13 05-06-2013 08:20 PM
grounding metal junction boxes simanco Electrical 3 07-27-2012 05:22 PM
Attic - Replacing electrical - Positioning, how many boxes, checking understandings darlingm Electrical 12 12-04-2011 11:17 PM
Number of junction boxes on a branch circuit j_sun Electrical 5 07-13-2011 09:37 AM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.