Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-06-2013, 10:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Share |
Default

junction boxes


I have a 20 amp outlet w 12 gauge for outlets and wanted to know if there is a limit to how many junctions I can have on the circuit .I have it coming in to one room juctioned there,then going to another and juctioned to go in both directions in room like a Y .
.it ends there.
Is there any limit to these per circuit and do these effect furthest outlet at all?
Any info is appreciated.

hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Default

junction boxes


Depends on what they're used for. Kitchens, Dining Rooms, and Baths have special requirements, but other than that, no limit that I know of as long as the breaker is 20a and the wire is #12.

What are they used for?

__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:50 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Default

junction boxes


Bedroom outlets.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 11:57 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Default

junction boxes


Should be fine, but why #12 and 20amp? Your choice, but I like #14 and 15a breakers.
__________________
Installation is the Reverse of Removal.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:43 AM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,534
Default

junction boxes


You didn't post your location so I will give the answer for CANADA.
I Canada you can as many junction boxes as you like as long as they remain accessible. They can not be buried under drywall.
You can only have 12 outlets on a circuit. Junction boxes and switches do not count as outlets.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:50 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,333
Default

junction boxes


You need to go back and add your location to your profile if you want to ask code questions.
Just got to Quick links to edit.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 165
Default

junction boxes


I already have a plenty of 12/2 and will be running seperate 20 amp circuits in other locations ,dedicated,so I have plenty of 12,the circuit I'm coming off of has 12/2 20 amp. I don't care to downsize to 15.I'm in Tn(as for code).
Thanks for info.

Last edited by hidden 1; 06-07-2013 at 05:19 PM.
hidden 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 06:50 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


if you are adding circuits ... 13 for 20 amp

220.14(I)
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer

Last edited by Philly Master; 06-07-2013 at 06:55 PM.
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:27 PM   #9
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Default

junction boxes


There is no limit to the number of junction boxes on any given circuit. But realize that every JB is another potential problem. We professionals very rarely use JB when installing new cabling. Also, there is no limit to the number of receptacles installed on a circuit in a dwelling unit.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (06-08-2013)
Old 06-07-2013, 07:31 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
if you are adding circuits ... 13 for 20 amp

220.14(I)
This does not apply to residental .
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:33 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
if you are adding circuits ... 13 for 20 amp

220.14(I)
This does not apply to residental. You could have 200 receptacles on the circuit.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:36 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
There is no limit to the number of junction boxes on any given circuit. But realize that every JB is another potential problem. We professionals very rarely use JB when installing new cabling. Also, there is no limit to the number of receptacles installed on a circuit in a dwelling unit.

220.14 Other Loads All Occupancies. In all occupancies, the minimum load for each outlet for general-use receptacles and outlets not used for general illumination shall not be less than that calculated in 220.14(A) through (L), the loads shown being based on nominal branch-circuit voltages.



I assumed junction box here in this thread to mean outlets ..LOL
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:37 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
This does not apply to residental. You could have 200 receptacles on the circuit.
220.14 Other Loads All Occupancies. In all occupancies, the minimum load for each outlet for general-use receptacles and outlets not used for general illumination shall not be less than that calculated in 220.14(A) through (L), the loads shown being based on nominal branch-circuit voltages.
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 07:38 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
if you are adding circuits ... 13 for 20 amp

220.14(I)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
This does not apply to residental. You could have 200 receptacles on the circuit.

I stated "if you are adding circuits" .. so they would not have been in the original load calulations ...
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 08:15 PM   #15
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,865
Default

junction boxes


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
if you are adding circuits ... 13 for 20 amp

220.14(I)

?????

__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is difference between ceiling and attic for junction boxes? Mallethead Electrical 13 05-06-2013 08:20 PM
grounding metal junction boxes simanco Electrical 3 07-27-2012 05:22 PM
Attic - Replacing electrical - Positioning, how many boxes, checking understandings darlingm Electrical 12 12-04-2011 11:17 PM
Number of junction boxes on a branch circuit j_sun Electrical 5 07-13-2011 09:37 AM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.