Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-19-2012, 08:04 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,022
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


Can someone help me figure out which wire goes to my outlet.




Happy Thursday!!!
Attached Images
 

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:12 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


The HOT one! Also that should have a cover on it.:laughi ng:

antlerdancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 09:04 AM   #3
Learning Things Every Day
 
Jay 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MI
Posts: 555
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


My favorite color is red, so I'd say try the one with the red wire nut on it. By the looks of it, you'd have a 1 in 30 chance of it being the right one, and those odds aren't too shabby. As they say, close only counts in horseshoes and electrical work.

If that's not the right wire, just MacGuyver it with some new wire (speaker wire or a clothes hanger will be fine) and a wire nut or six - but make sure the wire nuts are red, because red is awesome. Don't listen to antlerdancer, you don't want a cover on that. The red and yellow wire nuts will make a pretty floral motif that's sure to impress the ladies - while demonstrating that you do indeed have a softer side - which will eliminate the need to shed a fake tear every time they drag you to a chick flick. It's a win-win situation.


Oh, one more thing.....

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. DIYChatroom.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any home improvement task!
__________________
Under Construction
Jay 78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:04 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


How did you get a pic of my garage?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:20 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


I sure hope those splices were all pre-twisted. I would find a new location for the outlet and put drywall over that JB.

Last edited by silversport; 04-19-2012 at 11:25 AM.
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 11:45 AM   #6
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


I THINK that box is a wee bit over it's allowed capacity.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 02:19 PM   #7
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,487
Rewards Points: 2,316
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


Oh...I see the problem....they used the wrong color wire nuts....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 03:09 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,282
Rewards Points: 2,226
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16
Oh...I see the problem....they used the wrong color wire nuts....
And no duct tape.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 05:17 PM   #9
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by silversport View Post
I sure hope those splices were all pre-twisted. I would find a new location for the outlet and put drywall over that JB.
yeah, you can't risk an inspector finding it.

Who knew you could use a j-box as a breakerless sub-panel?
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:35 PM   #10
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by antlerdancer View Post
The HOT one! Also that should have a cover on it.:laughi ng:
I'd like to see you try and put a cover on that.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 07:36 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


Quote:
Originally Posted by silversport View Post
I sure hope those splices were all pre-twisted. I would find a new location for the outlet and put drywall over that JB.
You would have more room if you removed the wire nuts and used tape
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 08:30 PM   #12
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


The cable have to be stapled within 12 inched of the box
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2012, 10:01 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


Maybe we could fit a couple more in there and add some box extensions.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:34 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,022
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


does anyone know of the proper clamp for this??
Attached Thumbnails
Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?-peeledconduit.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2012, 07:56 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ky
Posts: 230
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Junction box--Which wire goes to the outlet?


That is a first for me and I thought I had seen everything in the electrical field that was scary.

Jeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
Wire for outlet? 12-2 or 12-3 Bahuffma Electrical 7 08-22-2011 05:02 PM
Bathroom GFCI Outlet trouble RyG1357 Electrical 3 08-20-2011 03:40 PM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 08:20 AM
wire ceiling fan to outlet switch((help)) tommy281 Electrical 10 11-02-2009 09:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.