Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 08:33 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


I'm trying to splice 12 gauge wire, can I use the liquid insulation glue they sell instead of a juction box? or If I have to use a junction box in the stud wall behind the drywall, If I just make sure the wirenuts are tight I shouldn't ever have to access it again right? I guess I could put it in the attic If I really have to.

bluemoonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:35 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,522
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


All junction boxes must remain permanently accessible. They cannot be buried.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:41 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


Using things like "Liquid insulation glue" is one reason why circuits fail, and fires develop from jack-legged wiring.

Do NOT attempt such nonsense. ANY splices MUST be left accessible, so later on, when it fails, an electrician will be able to trace it down and repair it properly.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:42 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


I was kinda thinking that guess ill try crawl in the tiny attic.
bluemoonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 10:09 PM   #5
RST
DIY Homeowner
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 169
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


You could put a receptacle in the box. Might look funny depending on how high it is though.

I believe you could place a picture over the junction box cover to help hide it. Someone could simply remove the picture to access it.

Maybe you could run new wire back to the previous outlet?

RST
RST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:30 AM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,029
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


They actually manufacture splice blocks that can be buried behind the wall. You may have to do a search on here, unless kbsparky can post brand.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 01:48 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
They actually manufacture splice blocks that can be buried behind the wall. You may have to do a search on here, unless kbsparky can post brand.
where? everywhere I search it says ALL splices must remain accessable.

do wirenut connections actually ever fail?
bluemoonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 01:57 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 18
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


Im splicing NM-B to UF cable anyway (cuz i have a bunch) so I don't think a splice block would work so well
bluemoonshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:46 PM   #9
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


yes wirenuts fail all the time.

I have never heard of any product that will allow you to bury a splice

you know that you could go all the way with UF right?
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:54 PM   #10
Do it right.
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Amesbury, MA
Posts: 78
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
They actually manufacture splice blocks that can be buried behind the wall. You may have to do a search on here, unless kbsparky can post brand.

I've seen them used on this old house on a huge modular house, they looked like the plug on a trailer for the lights.
SubSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:03 PM   #11
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


If what you are talking about is what i think it is then i have done quite a bit of work with them. I spent 5 years in the mobile home industry. And they were notorious for problems, tho they were a favorite of the manufactures. They were installed under the home so they were accessible. I have not read the manufactures specs but if you could show me that the are allowed to be hidden then I would be convinced.


This old house is nothing but a hack!!
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 08:27 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
They actually manufacture splice blocks that can be buried behind the wall. You may have to do a search on here, unless kbsparky can post brand.
You mean this product by Tyco/Raychem?

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 12:00 AM   #13
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


I have see them before but very limited use and myself I have really no use for those gimzos at all.

Just stay with the true and proven methold is a junction box and proper wirenuts and that will work good.

Merci.
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 12:22 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 387
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


you'd think that after all these years, SOMEONE would have invented an NEC compliant splicing mechanism for in the wall burial and made millions. the whole idea of having to re-run a bunch of wire through walls and drywall as a result of a single splice is ridiculous. no wonder there is so much shoddy electrical behind so many walls.
NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 12:28 AM   #15
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Junction box in stud wall behind drywall?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroNate View Post
you'd think that after all these years, SOMEONE would have invented an NEC compliant splicing mechanism for in the wall burial and made millions. the whole idea of having to re-run a bunch of wire through walls and drywall as a result of a single splice is ridiculous. no wonder there is so much shoddy electrical behind so many walls.
I know there were couple manufacters do make them and there is only one I know of made that type of connector the last time I ran into I Just ditch them and use the proper junction box due the the last one I have see it got overheated and burnted the connection a bit.

Really the whole key thing is plan it right and route the cable or conductors in proper way to reduce the numbers of splices that one reason why I do it in proper way.

The last house in France I found over 30 hidden junction boxes took me a a bit to get all clear up { there were few major code volitatons show up as well }

Merci.
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Concrete Wall Framing Against Stairs Epicsoccer Remodeling 7 01-13-2013 03:11 PM
Stud alignment in staggered wall rightit Building & Construction 5 03-17-2011 01:10 PM
Trouble with staggered wall rightit Building & Construction 2 03-09-2011 06:23 PM
Drywall mud on old painted block wall? urborn2die Drywall & Plaster 2 09-17-2010 08:54 PM
Wall - LOAD BEARING: How to Move? user49172 Building & Construction 1 03-11-2009 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.