Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2013, 10:38 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, Canada
Posts: 140
Share |
Default

Junction box position in the attic


Hi,

While anxious to know if the connections are correct, I attach some pictures of the attic, the Canadian code for NB, with rule 12-3014 states that there must be at least 35,4 in vertical space above the junction box (head clearance).

Here some pictures:









Now, place the junction box on top of the joist is not easy has to get the 35.4 head clearance I would end up in the intersection with the diagonal brace.

Any place I can put the junction box above the 12in insulation?
For instance, I was thinking on the side of the diagonal brace (engineered truss?) but I am not sure this is allowed

Thanks
Alex

Last edited by Metallo; 05-18-2013 at 11:12 AM.
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 06:09 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, Canada
Posts: 140
Default

Junction box position in the attic


Hi all,

Can anybody look at the wiring in my post #14 and let me know if it is correct?

Thanks
Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 06:23 PM   #18
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 683
Default

Junction box position in the attic


Black from cable 2 and 5 is connected to Red from cable #3

If you do this the timer will be controlled by the existing switch.

If you want the timer separate from the existing switch, but the black from cable 5 with the blacks from 1,3,4 and white from 2.
Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 06:24 PM   #19
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 683
Default

Junction box position in the attic


Also, mounting anywhere on the trusses is acceptable
Techy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2013, 07:01 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, Canada
Posts: 140
Default

Junction box position in the attic


Thank you much Techy,

Tomorrow I will try and report back the results

Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2013, 07:20 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Fredericton, Canada
Posts: 140
Default

Junction box position in the attic


Hi,

This is to report that the following connections are working fine for a light switch and the Leviton LTB60 timer:
  • White from cable 1+3+4+5+fan pigtailed together
  • Black from cable 1+3+4+5 and White from cable 2 pigtailed together
  • Red of the Timer connected to the Black of the fan
  • Black from cable 2 is connected to Red from cable #3
  • Bare ground= 1+2+3+4 + Green 5 and Green of the fan
Now it's time to work on the 6" duct


Thank you all for you precious help.


Alex
Metallo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 09:30 AM
an attic fan AS a whole house fan? JLAMBERTI HVAC 2 06-21-2012 01:04 AM
Attic Insulation tim1218 Insulation 4 09-07-2011 10:18 AM
Junction box in attic mjkiefer Electrical 3 09-06-2011 08:28 AM
Attic moisture Carstonio Roofing/Siding 14 01-29-2009 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.