Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2011, 12:53 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Share |
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Why do most codes require junction boxes to be flush with the drywall, rather than say, flush with the stud?

I have a wall where the junction box is now set back by 1" because 1" of drywall was added (don't ask why).

Thanks,
David

djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 05:32 AM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


To decrease the risk of fire. Openings in combustible material have to be flush, non-combustible materials can be set-back upto inch.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 07:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,864
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


There may not be a gap more than 1/4 inch between the rim of teh box and the cover (say flush with the wall surface), not filled by a mud ring or other approved box extension piece.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 10:01 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


There are box extensions available to solve your issue. Along with containing any arc or sparks, the box also supports the device. Without the box your only support for the device is the small ears that should be sitting on the finish surface of the drywall.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 10:13 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,939
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djgrant View Post
Why do most codes require junction boxes to be flush with the drywall, rather than say, flush with the stud?

Thanks,
David
If it were flush with the stud some yahoo would drywall right over it.

There are enough buried junction boxes without making it easy for them.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:20 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
There are box extensions available to solve your issue. Along with containing any arc or sparks, the box also supports the device. Without the box your only support for the device is the small ears that should be sitting on the finish surface of the drywall.
I saw an extension at the hardware store but it was like 1.5" or maybe more. I need only 1" more. Any easy solution?

Thanks.
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:40 AM   #7
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Single gang, double, or 4x4 box? Are there devices?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:42 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
Single gang, double, or 4x4 box?
Circular plastic box, I think the holes are 3.5" or 4" apart. It's a lighting fixture box, like the octagonal metal ones, but this is circular and plastic.
djgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:46 AM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djgrant View Post
Circular plastic box, I think the holes are 3.5" or 4" apart. It's a lighting fixture box, like the octagonal metal ones, but this is circular and plastic.
http://www.foxelectricsupply.com/con...ductNo=ARLBE1R
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:47 AM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,406
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Arlington makes extensions BE1, BE2 for on e anf 2 gang boxes, BE1R for round boxes. Should be available in an electrical supply house.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:49 AM   #11
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


What you need is made by Arlington it is part #BE-1R.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 11:52 AM   #12
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Arlington BE-1R
Attached Images
File Type: bmp BE-1R.bmp (56.8 KB, 141 views)
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 12:17 PM   #13
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
If it were flush with the stud some yahoo would drywall right over it.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 12:19 PM   #14
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?


Quote:
Originally Posted by djgrant View Post
I saw an extension at the hardware store but it was like 1.5" or maybe more. I need only 1" more. Any easy solution?

Thanks.
The ring may look like it is 1.5" but it fits inside the box so it can fix up to about 1 1/4 set back.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2011, 12:26 PM   #15
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Default

Junction box flush with drywall - WHY?




Here are the specs for the Arlington BE-1R



For set back ceiling boxes. Fits 3-1/2" and 4" round or octagonal boxes.
Complies with 2002 NEC Article 314.20
Extends box up to 1-1/2" to bring it level with ceiling surface
Trims to accommodate shallow boxes or to avoid obstruction

codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wall not Flush to hang drywall jburchill Building & Construction 14 06-22-2011 07:08 AM
In wall gutter downspout causing mold on drywall. chrispy35 General DIY Discussions 12 05-06-2011 10:35 PM
Cutout in drywall around sink coutertop bananey Drywall & Plaster 4 05-04-2011 04:47 PM
Bathroom drywall question... StevePax Remodeling 9 01-08-2010 02:30 PM
Good ways to run pegboard up to drywall? upthemaiden Drywall & Plaster 1 03-09-2009 01:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.