Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-19-2007, 04:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Junction box for 30 amp circuit


I'm trying to find a way to switch off the seldom used water heater in my weekend cottage. It's a 30 amp circuit with the water heater and the breaker panel both in the basement (which is accessible only from the outside). I want to put a blade switch in an upstairs closet adjacent to the bathroom so that I can switch the water heater on and off when I know someone's going to be using the cottage. Doing that will require that I interrupt the circuit between the water heater and the panel with a junction box/wire nuts. Is that legit? Does anybody see any other issues with this setup? The basement is warm enough to keep the heater from freezing, but I'm wondering what else can go wrong...
Thanks,

rkhpapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 06:26 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,374
Default

Junction box for 30 amp circuit


As long as your connections are in a junction box which is accessible there will be no problem.

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2007, 06:34 AM   #3
Newbie
 
JoulesWinfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 24
Default

Junction box for 30 amp circuit


Being kind of a laymen with residential I would think you would be fine as long as you make sure all your components are rated for this application. ie. disconnect, cable etc.
JoulesWinfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Circuit configuration??? Clutchcargo Electrical 11 05-30-2007 08:01 AM
Conflicting Circuit Info!?? BenBil Electrical 9 01-15-2007 08:26 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.