Junction Box - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2012, 06:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 315
Rewards Points: 326
Default

Junction box


Is there a limit to the number of junction boxes per circuit?
Also with install does positioning have to be in any specific direction or so far apart from another box/outlet ,so long as you can access them?

Advertisement

hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 06:52 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Junction box


As many junction boxes as you want, but why use them.
Make all connections inside switch and receptacle locations.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 315
Rewards Points: 326
Default

Junction box


Because its in attic.Already were connected.Dont need that many plugs there.

Last edited by hidden1; 11-12-2012 at 07:10 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:10 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
Because its in attic.Already were spliced .Dont need that many plugs there.
There codes that require receptacles be placed so any point on the wall is not more than 6' from a receptacle.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:33 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Junction box


k_buz, might want to post a sketch, due to some have a hard time trying to picture what the 6 foot rule is.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 07:40 PM   #6
Newbie
 
jrgodwindesigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Junction box


Remember code also requires junction boxes to be accessible, but if your doing the work your self this would only matter at resale. At resale an inspector will sight any none code electrical which will hurt your effort for full asking price. Finding a good electrician is best.
jrgodwindesigns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:03 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Junction box


A Home Inspector will cite if the sun is not at the right angle, or if their dog died that morning. As for the junction boxes, the OP stated they are in the attic, so they meet the criteria of easily accessible.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:18 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 315
Rewards Points: 326
Default

Junction box


is in unfinished attic.11 boxes though..not all on same circuit

Last edited by hidden1; 11-12-2012 at 08:20 PM.
hidden1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 08:21 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,420
Rewards Points: 2,502
Default

Junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by hidden1 View Post
is in unfinished attic
You are good to go. Just make sure they are high enough, that if you are blowing in insulation, or mark the spots with a stub of wood, so they can be found later.

You definitely do not want them where people can step on them later, if you blow in insulation that will cover them.

Also to add, I would just forgive the boxes all together, and just pull two lengths of Romex down, so that you have a continuous circuit along the loop, using the boxes where the switches & outlets for the junction points. Figure two romex, six wires, you should be find in the count for fill.

I did that with my last Kitchen circuit, since I am not planning on making any changes with it later on down the road. It uses a little more Romex, but in the long run, it is a whole lot cleaner, and you do not have to go hunting around in insulation, or looking up in a basement joist space when working on the circuit.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 11-12-2012 at 08:24 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 08:14 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,021
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrgodwindesigns View Post
At resale an inspector will sight any none code electrical which will hurt your effort for full asking price.
Home inspectors are NOT code experts. They will (or should) tell you that up front. Every one I've hired has made me sign a bunch of papers acknowledging that I have read and understand what he is not.

Advertisement

md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Light on Round Junction Service Box MegR Electrical 7 07-07-2013 09:31 PM
Garage feeder junction box bonding WillK Electrical 0 06-05-2011 11:03 AM
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 03:37 PM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 10:52 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 08:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts