Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2012, 10:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

Junction box


Ok I just put in a blue, plastic, round junction box after chiseling through the plaster. On one side though the stud doesn't allow the screw to be tightened to make the wings secure on the back end. If I go to far in the opposite direction to get away from the stud the light fixture is no longer centered-it kinda isn't now but it's ok. My question is do I have the wrong junction box? Should I get a metal one that screws into the stud?

D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:24 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Junction box


What is this box for? Fixture? Smoke detector? Ceiling fan? or simply a junction box?

Is this the box?


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Junction box


Box is for a bathroom light fixture. The one I removed didn't have one but the light sort of incorporated something like one. I chiseled through the plaster and fit the box in there. I keep turning the power off at night because it makes me nervous. The box abuts the stud and doesn't allow one wing to secure in back. Should I have used a metal box instead?
D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Junction box


I didn't the photo you posted, yes, that's it
D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:32 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Junction box


I guess I would need to know what the box looks like. If it like the one pictured above, you could just turn the box so the wings aren't next to the joists/studs.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:36 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Junction box


Hmmm, but I have to have the screws centered horizontally for the backside of fixture to screw into so when I mount the fixture it's level. Don't I?
D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:38 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Junction box


You SHOULDN'T have to. Usually the bracket they provide with the fixture will allow you to level the fixture no matter where the screw holes are.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:43 PM   #8
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,090
Default

Junction box


Something like this should have come with the fixture.
It allows you to put connecting holes anywhere you want.

Name:  Rotating_mounting_bracket.jpg
Views: 77
Size:  21.9 KB

Last edited by sublime2; 04-04-2012 at 10:46 PM.
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:46 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Junction box


I'll have to undo this tomorrow and take a look. That'd be great because I had to add a screw to secure the back of the fixture and now you can see the blue box a little. I knew it wasn't right. I never thought to the turn the box a little, thank you so much! Oh, what would happen if the wires become disconnected inside the box? I only ask because the wires did come disconnected while mounting the light but was reconnected.
D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:48 PM   #10
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Junction box


About the only thing I can say about the wires coming disconnected is splice it better. Not trying to be a smart... its just the way it is.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:49 PM   #11
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,090
Default

Junction box


Quote:
Originally Posted by D'brat
Oh, what would happen if the wires become disconnected inside the box? I only ask because the wires did come disconnected while mounting the light but was reconnected.
? The light would not come on.......
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 10:55 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Livermore, California
Posts: 265
Default

Junction box


If the wires come disconnected you could have a number of things happen.
1) You'll almost always loose power to the light.
2) You'll probably get some sparking as the wire disconnects. (One of the reasons for an electrical box)
3) The fixture could become electrified if it's not properly grounded. If properly grounded, this short should trip the breaker.
4) You could get a short between the hot and neutral, which should also trip the breaker.
5) With a bad breaker, or undersized wire, a short could cause the wires to overheat and potentially start a fire.

So as you see it ranges from an annoyance to really bad. How are you connecting the wires? If you're properly using wirenuts, you shouldn't be able to pull any of the wires out of a wirenut with a reasonable amount of force.
a_lost_shadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:09 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Junction box


First thanks to all I really appreciate it.
Second, the light works fine so there's power. My question and fear came from the fact that while putting the wires into the box the first time, one if the wires popped out. It was reconnected and it works. I was just curious. These are things the things I think about at night instead of sleeping. I want to be safe!
D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:32 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

Junction box


You could take the opportunity to move the fixture to center by using a pancake box affixed directly to the face of the stud.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 11:36 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Junction box


Ok pancake box?? What's that?

D'brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Light on Round Junction Service Box MegR Electrical 7 07-07-2013 08:31 PM
grounding old 2 wire junction to grounded junction gm8075 Electrical 3 03-28-2011 11:46 AM
Installing ceiling fixture with a metal junction box Romanuke Electrical 12 03-20-2011 02:37 PM
Junction boxes for garage T8 fixtures mazeroth Electrical 13 01-25-2010 09:52 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.