Jumping From Main Panel To Sub-panel - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2008, 08:20 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


If you look at the ebay listing I posted, it shows the item that you should be looking for, only in a 2 pole variety (the 3 pole would work, but no need to buy 6 of them). This would be the better solution than "splicing" into existing wires. It would essentially be the same thing as splicing the wires, only your making a better tap connection.

Like 220/221 said, you would have to run 3/0 copper from these lugs to your garage. Your existing 125amp sub panel would have to be replaced with a 200 amp panel and it must have a main breaker installed at the new 200 amp panel. This would serve as your disconnect for the garage building. Or you could put in a new 200 amp panel at the garage, and connect the existing 125 amp panel to the new panel as a sub panel. Though it would just be better to replace it with a single panel.

Advertisement

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 12:58 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Near Sacramento CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


If I can I would like to keep my costs down and keep the current 125A sub-panel and add another 125A panel in the garage and a 125A breaker in the main.

Can I run 2 feeders in the same conduit?
Thanks,
teamjnz
teamjnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 02:34 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


Since we have clarified that the garage is attached to the house and considered one structure, how does art 225.30 apply? Art 225.30 only addresses "More than one building or other structure".

So a circuit for a spa, "for example" that is fed from a service panel feeding a disconnect within the same structure would be a violation?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2008, 04:56 PM   #19
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by teamjnz View Post

The garage is attached and as for 2 feeders into 1 structure, I passed my electrical inspection with both feeder and 2 sub-panels. My power company will not bring a 3phase line into a residential building.
Not everyone knows what they are doing. I really dont know what else to tell you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by teamjnz View Post
Can I run 2 feeder threw the same conduit to power 2 different sub-panels? If I remember correctly someone told me awhile ago that you can't. This is the main reason why I was thinking about splicing into the main feeder to the breaker bus. If I can get a 2pole 200A breaker this would solve my problem.

Thanks,
teamjnz
Your house should only have 1 feeder, its bad enough it has two already, and the garage is missing the required disconnect, I bet the house panel does not have one either... Just curious, Did you hire someone to wire the house?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 01:03 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Near Sacramento CA
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
Not everyone knows what they are doing. I really dont know what else to tell you.



Your house should only have 1 feeder, its bad enough it has two already, and the garage is missing the required disconnect, I bet the house panel does not have one either... Just curious, Did you hire someone to wire the house?
Yes the 200A house sub-panel has a disconnect in it. The 125A sub-panel has a disconnect too but it is not in the garage, it is in the main panel. Since it has a disconnect the county inspector signed it off, if it was unsafe he won't have.

I am not a contractor and I did wired the house.

Is it safe to run 2 feeders in 1 conduit?
teamjnz
teamjnz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 04:32 PM   #21
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Since we have clarified that the garage is attached to the house and considered one structure, how does art 225.30 apply? Art 225.30 only addresses "More than one building or other structure".
It applies because the combo meter/main is a pedestal service, and that itself is a separate structure, if that meter was attached to the building everything would be fine, but its not. so here is the problem, Everything leaving that meter/panel is in fact a feeder and article 225 applies to all those feeders.

Here are the violations I see already existing,

House has two feeders, violation of 225.30.
225.31, no disconnect located for the garage panel.
225.34, garage and house disconnects are not grouped together.

the list goes on.... The OP needs to call an electrician and see what options are available to him, I cant he his entire setup, so I cant really help at this point.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 04:34 PM   #22
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by teamjnz View Post
Yes the 200A house sub-panel has a disconnect in it. The 125A sub-panel has a disconnect too but it is not in the garage, it is in the main panel. Since it has a disconnect the county inspector signed it off, if it was unsafe he won't have.

I am not a contractor and I did wired the house.

Is it safe to run 2 feeders in 1 conduit?
teamjnz
Or he was uneducated?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2008, 04:36 PM   #23
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post

So a circuit for a spa, "for example" that is fed from a service panel feeding a disconnect within the same structure would be a violation?
Not at all, 225 would not apply in that situation.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 10:58 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Jumping from main panel to sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
It applies because the combo meter/main is a pedestal service, and that itself is a separate structure, if that meter was attached to the building everything would be fine, but its not. so here is the problem, Everything leaving that meter/panel is in fact a feeder and article 225 applies to all those feeders.

Here are the violations I see already existing,

House has two feeders, violation of 225.30.
225.31, no disconnect located for the garage panel.
225.34, garage and house disconnects are not grouped together.

the list goes on.... The OP needs to call an electrician and see what options are available to him, I cant he his entire setup, so I cant really help at this point.
Chris, So the keyword is pedestal? I could not understand your point until you mentioned pedestal twice. Why is a pedestal service considered a structure?
I understand now what you meant. Thanks for sticking with the thread as I have learned something today.........John

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 01:24 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 08:37 AM
Replace main panel? And lots of other ?s Bcoleman6 Electrical 13 01-22-2008 10:40 AM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 09:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts