Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 01:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

Joining romex and conduit


We just bught a house and are remodling. I am removing 1/4" plywood panel and putting up drywall. I have gotten into the project and realised that we have an fpe stablok breaker panel acting as a subpanel. The system is wired in grounded emt conduit without seprate ground wiring in the conduit or ground bar at the subpanel. I tested the outlets with a test light and they appear to be grounded. Eventualy of course, I want to have someone swap this fpe panel out. For now I have the walls out. I want to put plastic boxes in and run romex wire.
What I wanted to know is there a way to ground the romex to the conduit at a junction box. Then later go from the junction box to the subpanel.
My second option may be to shim behind the current boxes or replace them to match the thickness of the drywall and not worry about it, but The outlets are sticking about a half inch out of the boxes with termanals very near those metal coverplates. and there is no ground wire conected. So I don't know how comfortable I'm going to be with this option.
Attached are pics. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance

Restyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 02:50 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Default

Joining romex and conduit


https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink

https://picasaweb.google.com/lh/phot...eat=directlink


Last edited by Restyle; 11-08-2011 at 02:53 PM.
Restyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 03:01 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,322
Default

Joining romex and conduit


The flat rings you have can be replaced with raisded plaster rings. If you are using 1/2" drywall get 5/8" plaster rings.

If the conduit is continous it is your ground.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
loose Romex entering EMT conduit inside ceiling amakarevic Electrical 6 11-02-2011 09:32 PM
loose Romex into plastic conduit box amakarevic Electrical 4 06-30-2011 09:27 PM
Why not Romex in Conduit? Mr Chips Electrical 3 11-08-2008 09:58 AM
Use of unsheathed Romex NM-B wires in conduit? WoodworkerDave Electrical 10 09-29-2008 05:57 PM
Cost Difference Between Conduit & Romex Shawns4 Electrical 39 08-25-2008 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.