Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2010, 05:33 PM   #1
Oly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


My Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V irrigation pump stopped working and I canít find anything wrong with it so far. I checked the power from the relay to the pump motor and I have 120V on each hot leg. I replaced the capacitor with one in a pump that worked when I stopped using it and it still wonít start. I checked the continuity of the windings and get a reading. I wired around a unit that has a thin metal disk in it assuming it is some sort of heat sensor and that didnít help. I am getting to my witís end. Any suggestions rather than buying a new pump? Thanks! Oly in Eltopia

Oly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 06:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


Do you manually turn on the pump, or are their controls that tell the pump to turn on( sensors). Also, maybe you can check the continuity on the neutral wire, if theirs no break. Or maybe one of the hot wire has broken.

humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 07:30 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


Quote:
I checked the power from the relay to the pump motor and I have 120V on each hot leg
how and where did you take these readings?

You need to check from terminal to terminal on the motor and you should get 240 volts.

with the relay open (off), check on the line side (feed from the house) from each terminal to ground and then from terminal to terminal. The first readings should each read 120 v, the third reading should be 240.



Is there anyway to manually rotate the motor to be sure it isn't seized or something jammed in the impeller? If you have trouble turning it, don't just get more persuasive, try turning it backwards a bit to see if that dislodges whatever is binding the pump or motor.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 02:46 PM   #4
Oly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


Humberguy and NAP,
Thanks for your response. To answer Humberguy; I have the irrigation on an 8 station timer and it comes on automatically. I have checked the wires coming into my subpanel and they are the normal voltage. To answer NAPs questions; the voltage from each terminal to neutral is 120V and terminal to terminal is 240V. I found some archived forums concerning checking out capacitors and I think my problem is that, even though it looks good. I disconnected the capacitor to wire up from the motor terminals to the capacitor leads going into the motor housing. I had one wire from a terminal contacting one lead and was going to briefly touch the other hot wire to the other lead with needle nose insulated plyers after switching the panel circuit breaker to open. Before I could move a step, the pump started humming, so I quickly closed the circuit breaker. That makes me think my windings are still good, but that the capacitor is faulty. On the way home from work this afternoon, I plan to go to an agricultural store that deals specifically with irrigation components and pumps to have them check out the capacitor with their good instruments. I shall let you know what I hear. Thanks!
Oly from Eltopia, WA
Oly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 04:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


The current is what supplies magnetomotive force. Measure it with a clamp-on ammeter. Knowing the wire size and length you can calc. what voltage the motor terminals are seeing, assuming the wire and connections have integrity.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 06-16-2010 at 04:39 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 05:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 155
Rewards Points: 152
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oly View Post
I disconnected the capacitor to wire up from the motor terminals to the capacitor leads going into the motor housing. I had one wire from a terminal contacting one lead and was going to briefly touch the other hot wire to the other lead with needle nose insulated plyers after switching the panel circuit breaker to open. Before I could move a step, the pump started humming, so I quickly closed the circuit breaker. That makes me think my windings are still good, but that the capacitor is faulty.
Just make sure you have the right sized capacitor. Could be 50 mf, 100mf. Maybe you put a capacitor too small for the load.
humberguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:00 AM   #7
Oly
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


To all respondents,
Yesterday after work I went to a local store Irrigation Specialists and talked to the pump mechanic and had him check out the capacitor I had removed from the pump. He determined it was no good and I showed him the original capacitor that had ruptured. He said the replacement I used was within the correct rating but gave me a new one that matched the original. I went home and installed the new capacitor into the motor and double checked the wiring to make sure all was as before my problem. I turned on the timer to manual so the first station came on line, then flipped the circuit breaker on which enabled the pump to sound like it was pumping but no water appeared at the sprinklers even though I had made sure the pump was primed. The circuit breaker flipped off and I double checked it was off and checked the pump but could see nothing wrong. I was tired and frustrated so quit for the evening and went in to have supper. This morning before leaving for work, after mulling over everything I could think of, looked at the pump wiring again and seeing nothing unusual, set the first station to manual on my timer, then flipped the circuit breaker on, the pump started again and then the motor started smoking and the circuit breaker flipped off again. I saw no other damage to the pump motor other than smoke coming from the winding housing, which indicates to me that the motor is toast. A brother-in-law is a well driller and he always shames me when I don’t buy electrical or pump equipment from him at his discount, so I will swallow my pride this one time and see what kind of deal he can give me for a new 2 HP replacement irrigation pump. I know I can probably just get a motor, but I am tired of messing with the pump and my lawn and small apple orchard needs water immediately, so I am throwing in the towel. Thank you for your opinions and advice. I appreciate your help.
Oly from Eltopia, WA
Oly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:44 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

irrigation pump shutdownMy Sta-rite 2 HP centrifugal self priming single phase 240V i


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oly View Post
the motor is toast.
Yes.
Possibly the root cause is
the motor/cap itself or
a high resistance connection upstream of the motor or
a low supply voltage during startup or run.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to add a single phase Subpanel to three Phase Main meglomachinist Electrical 19 09-10-2009 03:46 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
How to power a 120/240 volt 3 phase oven in a building with 120/240 volt single phase wantsomegetsome Electrical 9 05-04-2009 10:49 AM
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-23-2009 11:06 PM
Underground 240v single phase residential supply DIYALLTHETIME Electrical 11 03-05-2009 09:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.