Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2011, 02:22 AM   #1
NCmeasure2x
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Interrupted freezer circuit...


Thought I could remodel a basement outlet circuit but have messed up. I removed an outlet in middle of circuit by cutting load and line wires and joining them together with wire nuts. I wanted to move the outlet lower to floor so I ran another wire into metal outlet box and joined all the blacks with white wires and ground. Used the tester and the tester light indicated it was hot. However two hours later I walked into the garage and the freezer was off. Tester indicates it is hot but not working. I luckily caught my error and ran a power cord to freezer before I crash for the night. Any solution would be great.

I cut an outlet out and used this box as junction to tap into for new outlet. The old outlet box know has three black wires joined and three white joined.

Appreciate some insight.

mazac66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 02:42 AM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,542
Default

Interrupted freezer circuit...


Just to clarify, you connected all three blacks together, all three whites together, and all three grounds together? And the receptacle for the freezer was hot when tested with a test light? Sounds like you did everything right and it works, but there was something wrong with the freezer. Do other things work when plugged into that receptacle?

mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 02:42 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 127
Default

Interrupted freezer circuit...


Quote:
Originally Posted by mazac66 View Post
Thought I could remodel a basement outlet circuit but have messed up. I removed an outlet in middle of circuit by cutting load and line wires and joining them together with wire nuts. I wanted to move the outlet lower to floor so I ran another wire into metal outlet box and joined all the blacks with white wires and ground. Used the tester and the tester light indicated it was hot. However two hours later I walked into the garage and the freezer was off. Tester indicates it is hot but not working. I luckily caught my error and ran a power cord to freezer before I crash for the night. Any solution would be great.

I cut an outlet out and used this box as junction to tap into for new outlet. The old outlet box know has three black wires joined and three white joined.

Appreciate some insight.
I'd check your connections, especially the neutral in the now junction box
CheapCharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 06:07 AM   #4
NCmeasure2x
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Interrupted freezer circuit...


I will check the connections in new junction box. Thanks for the support and great site.
mazac66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dispute: Oven malfunction after h/w guys used the circuit rational Appliances 18 05-17-2011 10:37 PM
Bathroom Fan/Outlets on Same Circuit rjschwar Electrical 6 04-22-2011 10:56 AM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 06:46 PM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 05:00 PM
Dedicated freezer circuit in basement? budde97 Electrical 5 02-15-2007 03:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.