Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2009, 04:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Unhappy

Internet connection


I have my Internet wired through my house via the wall sockets. Basically my internet signal goes from my computer into a gismo in the nearest wall socket which means that I can connect to the internet via any electrical socket in the house which works fine except for in the extension. I have tried every socket in the extension and it will not connect, if I run an extension lead from the main house to the computer in the extension it works fine. It used to work but not any more. The extension is fed from the same supply as the main house but has it's own sub-meter. Any ideas ??

Revproman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 04:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


Something is acting like a low-pass filter, and filtering out the high-bandwidth Internet connection?

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 05:08 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


did you check the sockets with a tester to insure proper wiring?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


Hmmm...how old is this extension? Do these circuits that don't work have breakers with a white button on them or a tab saying "test".

I'd use wifi though.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 11:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
I'd use wifi though.
x2 on WiFi...
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 06:46 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


The sockets are fine and I also have wifi but the signal is not strong enough to reach, only %10. Like I said it worked fine for years until 6 months ago. I will try unplugging everything else in the extension because it is has got to be something within that circuit and the low-pass filter idea sounds likely. Thanks anyway.
Revproman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2009, 07:49 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


Taking a stab here, not sure if I understand.... either you are running wireless in the addition of your house and the wireless signal is not working, or you are plugged into an internet jack (Socket) in the addtion and can no longer get recepetion you had 6 months ago, unless you run an extended internet cable direct form the old section of the house.

I find I sometimes lose my laptop wireless signal when I'm in the family room near the router at our main computer if my kids have a lot of wireless gaming toys running as well. When I go further away with no interference from toys I actually get an uninterupted signal. I also find when I unplug the laptop and battery runs low the interference is worse.

If you mean you have a poor signal using several actual wall jacks (socket) in the addition of the house I would be checking for a bad connection at the junction or terminal for that entire addition as it seems to affect all locations(sockets)???
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 12:15 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


The OP is using powerline networking
http://computer.howstuffworks.com/power-network.htm

As I understand the power outlets in a room addition used to work - but not anymore.

I suggest to apply basic troubleshooting methodologies - it used to work, so what's changed? If nothing has changed then what is malfunctioning? Etc...

Try Googling powerline networking troubleshooting or similar and you'll find several items that may be of help.

I do computer networking for a living, specializing in corporate and carrier class wireless networks. I have never been a fan of powerline networking for the home...

Last edited by vsheetz; 04-20-2009 at 12:17 AM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 07:20 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Internet connection


Do you have any new devices plugged into your circuits? Unplug everything in the addition.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow....................internet RichyL PC Repairs & Upgrades 16 10-20-2009 07:57 AM
high internet usage mpj111 PC Repairs & Upgrades 14 08-10-2009 01:28 PM
Verizon's fiberglass cable and internet input? gante Off Topic 22 03-25-2009 10:09 PM
Proper Sub-Panel Connection jamiedolan Electrical 12 09-04-2008 10:46 PM
Your Internet Connection Nathan Networking 39 04-29-2006 01:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.