Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2011, 07:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 418
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Interlock Kits in Canada


Are interlock kits such as available at http://www.interlockkit.com approved for use in Canada? I didn't find any referrence to it on their website.

daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2011, 09:18 PM   #2
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Interlock Kits in Canada


u'll have to ask them

__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 12:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Interlock Kits in Canada


Quote:
Originally Posted by daveb1 View Post
Are interlock kits such as available at http://www.interlockkit.com approved for use in Canada? I didn't find any referrence to it on their website.
I emailed them today.
Nope they aren't CSA approved, so not legal in Canada.
You can still order them and they do ship to Canada.
Good luck finding a licenced electrician to install it as they could lose their licence. And if u had a fire you wouldn't be insured.
Looks like the generlink system is the only way to go up here which is about triple the cost.
Kevy10617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MA
Posts: 718
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Interlock Kits in Canada


Dave, check with your panel manufacturer as well. They are also usually much cheaper.
AandPDan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AandPDan For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (08-02-2013)
Old 08-02-2013, 10:52 AM   #5
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Interlock Kits in Canada


Yes many manufacturers make their own interlock kits. You may want to look into this.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 02:20 PM   #6
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,547
Rewards Points: 18
Default

Interlock Kits in Canada


Last I knew, the Canadian Code required a transfer switch, period. Breaker interlocks NOT allowed.

Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (08-02-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel Interlock Kits good idea for emergency or not? Hossenfeffer Electrical 1 03-19-2011 11:29 AM
ROMEX 14-2 wire from Canada Vs. ROMEX 14-2 wire from the U.S. Dazzlin Electrical 14 06-04-2010 07:51 AM
Which generator Interlock setup should I use for my sub panel? homerb Electrical 2 05-10-2010 03:44 PM
Starter tool kits cellophane Tools 16 10-13-2009 02:58 PM
looking into dye kits/ bleach repair kits 4 carpets. any suggestions? flooring Flooring 3 09-02-2008 09:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.