Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 02:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Interlock Kit for Generator


I am planning on getting an generator interlock kit installed into my main panel. I am going to get quotes from a few licensed electricians in my area. But I just want to be educated before talking to them. I know which interlock kit I need for my panel. So it need the top 2 right breakers to be free in order to install the breaker that will go to the plug outside of the house. Currently my well pump takes up these 2 slots in my breaker. I do have 2 free breakers on the right bottom of the panel. So I imagine that the electrician will just move my well pump to this location???? Does that sound right? If so how should this be done? I have read stuff about pigtails inside of the panel, etc.

Or would you guys suggest just getting a manual transfer switch installed instead? The only problem I see with those is you only get 10 or so breakers. I like the idea of being able to pick and choose what I want to use in my main panel with the interlock kit.

Thanks.

db_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 03:14 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Interlock Kit for Generator


Quote:
Originally Posted by db_9 View Post
So I imagine that the electrician will just move my well pump to this location???? Does that sound right?
Yup. That's pretty much the drill.



Quote:
Originally Posted by db_9 View Post
If so how should this be done? I have read stuff about pigtails inside of the panel, etc.
What have you heard?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 04:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Interlock Kit for Generator


About the pigtailing, I probably have my terminology wrong as I am not an electrician. But thats why I am here

I guess what I am asking is this. When they wired the well pump originally I imagine they trimmed the wire when they were done. So there will not be enough existing wire to move the well pump to the new location in the panel. So how do you add more wire the correct way to move the breaker to the new location?

Thanks.
db_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 04:30 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,869
Rewards Points: 2,134
Default

Interlock Kit for Generator


Just add the lenght of wire you need to reach the breaker.
If you are in Canada, then you can not splice in the panel.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 12:20 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Interlock Kit for Generator


I installed my own SqaureD interlock and there was enough slack to make it work.
VelvetFoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Concrete vs Interlock paver driveway in cold winter albertkao Building & Construction 16 09-12-2011 08:59 PM
Panel Interlock Kits good idea for emergency or not? Hossenfeffer Electrical 1 03-19-2011 11:29 AM
Question about QO interlock kit / breaker. speedster1 Electrical 8 02-04-2011 06:19 AM
Honeywell HR200B Unit Fan Interlock jasoninkw HVAC 0 09-28-2010 10:24 AM
Which generator Interlock setup should I use for my sub panel? homerb Electrical 2 05-10-2010 03:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.