Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-24-2012, 04:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Share |
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


If I am to run a single circuit to my out building from my home does it matter if I start the circuit at interior main or exterior panel?

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:22 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


Have done plenty if electrical just never messed with exterior main panel. Just didn't know if it mattered but would save me from
Crawling under house with bad back!

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:14 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


Do you have a panel inside and another outside? If the answer is yes, pick the one that will make the job the easiest. So tell us about these two (2) panels. Is one a main and the other a sub? Do you have a meter main service panel? What exactly do you mean "start a circuit from the inside panel or the outside panel"?
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 03:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


The outside is where the meter and a 200A main service shut off to entire home.
Then there is the breaker box inside home which also has 200A shut off as well as all the breakers for all circuits of home.
Just didn't know if it mattered if I put a 20A in the exterior panel and run from there. Would be easier as I wouldn't have to crawl under house.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 07:58 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


You could only start at the meter/main if there were additional spaces for a new breaker. You cannot just tap off the main over current protection.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 09:58 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
You could only start at the meter/main if there were additional spaces for a new breaker. You cannot just tap off the main over current protection.
He can extend the service. Tap the service conductors or use lug adapters for tapping the meter.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 10:02 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
He can extend the service. Tap the service conductors or use lug adapters for tapping the meter.
He is asking about running a single circuit. I don't think he is installing any over current protection. If he was I might agree with you.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 11:41 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,503
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
He is asking about running a single circuit.
My bad.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 01:43 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Default

Interior or exterior panel to feed out building?


I'm wanting to put a 20A breaker in and run some outlets and lights in an outbuilding.
Don't know what referring to when discussing over current?

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions about building stairs. cvriv.charles Building & Construction 7 12-19-2012 04:04 PM
High Rise Building methods - US versus Oz - Steel versus Concrete Jado Off Topic 17 09-15-2011 08:47 PM
Steel freespan building with interior office build out viper Building & Construction 4 01-16-2011 07:31 PM
Building a new deck....and creative uses of granite scrap in outdoor living space Rhizzlebop Building & Construction 9 05-15-2009 11:17 AM
feed to subpanel question JCA1 Electrical 1 03-11-2008 08:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.