Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 08:06 PM   #1
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,036
Rewards Points: 12
Share |
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors


I want to replace my existing 15 year old smoke detectors. I have 4 detector that are 120 volt with 9V battery backup; they are not interconnected. The existing smokes are wired to 3 different circuits: 2 on a 20 amp circuit that feeds lights & receptacles in the dining room, one each on 15 amp bedroom lighting circuits.

I want to interconnect the new smokes. Here is a reference to the FireX smokes I want to use.
http://www.sentrydetectors.com/firex/manual/4618.pdf

I am aware that usually interconnected smokes use 3 wire cable and use the red wire to make the interconnection. I would prefer not to have to rewire the four locations.

The manual listed above indicates the interconnection can be made using 18 gauge wiring so I think the interconnection signalling is low voltage. I would like to run a single strand of #14 THWN between the existing boxes to make the interconnection. The FireX manual cautions that if different circuits are used to power the smokes, the neutrals originate from the same phase. This will require I rearrange one of the circuits at the breaker panel but is a minor issue.

My question is: Is my plan to run a single THWN wire (no conduit) between the smokes a code compliant method?

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 08:34 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors


has to be in conduit or cable.single wires can't be run like that.

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 08:54 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors



I don’t think so. Fire alarm systems can have some different rules than the norm, but the typical household smoke alarm is not considered to be fire alarm equipment, therefore the special rules of fire alarms don’t apply. Which means the general rules of branch circuits would apply, and those rules wouldn’t allow it.

Also, this is the wording from the firex link you posted….
Connect smoke alarms to a single AC branch circuit. If local codes do not permit, be sure the neutral wire is common to both phases.
I read that to say that the phases share the neutral….an MWBC.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 03:04 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,036
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors


OP here rehashing an old question.

I hooked up one of the detectors I am planning on using (see original post) with a cord and plug for testing. I used the test button to set off the alarm and used a meter to test the signal on the red wire from the detector. I get 9 VDC.

Does this make any difference to my original thought to use a single #14 THWN wire to interconnect the smokes (without cable or conduit)?
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 04:00 PM   #5
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
OP here rehashing an old question.

I hooked up one of the detectors I am planning on using (see original post) with a cord and plug for testing. I used the test button to set off the alarm and used a meter to test the signal on the red wire from the detector. I get 9 VDC.

Does this make any difference to my original thought to use a single #14 THWN wire to interconnect the smokes (without cable or conduit)?
All conductors of a circuit shall be contained in the same cable or conduit. You have to run 14/3.

300.3 Conductors.
(A) Single Conductors.
Single conductors specified in Table 310.13(A) shall only be installed where part of a recognized wiring method of Chapter 3. Exception: Individual conductors shall be permitted where installed as separate overhead conductors in accordance with 225.6.

(B) Conductors of the Same Circuit.
All conductors of the same circuit and, where used, the grounded conductor and all equipment grounding conductors and bonding conductors shall be contained within the same raceway, auxiliary gutter, cable tray, cablebus assembly, trench, cable, or cord, unless otherwise permitted in accordance with 300.3(B)(1) through (B)(4).

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.

Last edited by electures; 06-23-2011 at 04:05 PM. Reason: spelling
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to electures For This Useful Post:
rjniles (06-23-2011)
Old 06-23-2011, 06:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors


When I did my whole house remodel a couple years ago, I installed battery powered wirelessly communicated smoke alarms. Works well, easy install. Might be an option to consider if allowed in your locale.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vsheetz For This Useful Post:
rjniles (06-23-2011)
Old 06-23-2011, 08:17 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,036
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
When I did my whole house remodel a couple years ago, I installed battery powered wirelessly communicated smoke alarms. Works well, easy install. Might be an option to consider if allowed in your locale.
I looked at those but they were a little to rich for my blood $$$)
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 10:30 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Inter-connected smoke detectors


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I looked at those but they were a little to rich for my blood $$$)
Depending on the situation by the time you subtract out wiring costs, the delta is not that much.

__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wired smoke detectors Gabriel24 Electrical 4 12-01-2010 08:02 AM
Smoke Detectors on Different Circuits Mililani Electrical 13 10-17-2010 06:35 PM
Tying in new 120v smoke detectors in an addition to existing ones... matthewschrag Electrical 1 08-20-2010 10:43 AM
Wiring Smoke Detectors - Has to be straight run? WaldenL Electrical 15 08-30-2009 09:22 AM
Smoke Detectors / CO Detector Bocolo Electrical 9 02-17-2009 05:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.