Insulated Or Not - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2011, 04:52 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Insulated or not


I'm about to add ground wire to circuits done in ungrounded copper NM wiring.
Should I use insulated (green), or un-insulated?

Advertisement

michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 07:23 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Insulated or not


How are you adding a ground? Is the current wiring in a conduit"?

Advertisement

SparkandArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 09:22 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Insulated or not


Quote:
Originally Posted by SparkandArc
How are you adding a ground? Is the current wiring in a conduit"?
NM is fancy talk for Romex or other brands of the same type of wiring.

I was planning on fishing it from the attic to every junction box with a receptacle.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:11 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Insulated or not


If you are going to go through that much trouble I would advise you to just pull new nm cable.
Mr. Shed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:30 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Insulated or not


I thought about it, but that would greatly increase the cost and scope of the project.
This will be much cheaper, much quicker, and my wires are copper and in great shape.
Most people adding grounds are doing so to knob ant tube.
I have a rare situation of un-grounded (fairly recnt: 1976) NM wire.

I bought a 500' roll of green 14ga thhn and a 100' roll of 12ga.
I'm in this project $65 and can go as slow as I want-won't disrupt power other than where I'm working.

I guess I'll call the inspector to make sure about insulated vs non.

I asked a very specific question and did so for a reason: answer would have been great.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:41 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Insulated or not


not sure where you are, but in ontario the smallest ground you can run without mechanical protection is #6. As pointed out above if you are going to go through all that work of fishing walls and opening all the boxes, why not just pull new romex with a ground? Then it's done properly.
dhubz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 12:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 295
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Insulated or not


Quote:
Originally Posted by dhubz
As pointed out above if you are going to go through all that work of fishing walls and opening all the boxes, why not just pull new romex with a ground? Then it's done properly.
Not pulling new romex for the reasoms I previously stated.
Since it's allowable to send all the grounds to one junction, then to the panel with one wire, I can work on this a little at a time without disrupting the occupants much.

It will involve MUCH less time and money. The difference is not slight.

Last edited by michaelcherr; 02-17-2011 at 12:11 PM.
michaelcherr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 12:37 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Midwest
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Insulated or not


After some digging I believe you are allowed to fish in a new conductor for a ground on ungrounded systems. I was first worried that you need to keep all conductors on a circuit in the same conduit, raceway, or cable assembly. But there is an exeption for your type of existing system. About the insulated or not, I would definatly prefer to insulated just for extra safety if anything goes wrong. An EGC can be insulated, coverd or bare.

Advertisement

SparkandArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulated Windows - Worth the extra money? VinDan Remodeling 10 07-30-2010 08:01 PM
Insulated Vinyl Siding vs Regular Vinyl Siding DIY828 Remodeling 25 08-06-2009 01:32 PM
Bathroom Fan - Do Insulated Exhaust Ducts Meet California Building Code? fritzycat1 HVAC 1 06-20-2009 03:29 PM
Pulling wire through insulated walls daxinarian Electrical 11 07-17-2008 02:11 PM
Upgrading can lights to insulated? juliejules4 Electrical 2 12-03-2006 05:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts