Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 05:27 PM   #31
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Share |
Default

insufficient panel ground


Well...

Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:37 PM   #32
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

insufficient panel ground


That metal conduit the service conductors are in, if it continues underground for more than ten feet, it could be a legal second electrode. No ground rods would be necessary.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:40 PM   #33
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,669
Default

insufficient panel ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
That metal conduit the service conductors are in, if it continues underground for more than ten feet, it could be a legal second electrode. No ground rods would be necessary.
No way, it would have to be driven...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Glennsparky (10-23-2012)
Old 10-23-2012, 05:41 PM   #34
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

insufficient panel ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky
That metal conduit the service conductors are in, if it continues underground for more than ten feet, it could be a legal second electrode. No ground rods would be necessary.
Are you really an electrician?
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 05:49 PM   #35
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

insufficient panel ground


I passed my test by one point. And I'd put my swimming pool work up against anyone.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 06:00 PM   #36
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,669
Default

insufficient panel ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
I passed my test by one point. And I'd put my swimming pool work up against anyone.
I do a lot of pools.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 09:22 PM   #37
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,523
Default

insufficient panel ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
That metal conduit the service conductors are in, if it continues underground for more than ten feet, it could be a legal second electrode. No ground rods would be necessary.
I don't recall seeing that "leftover buried conduit electrode" section in Article 250 of the NEC. Mind pointing it out?
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Evstarr (10-24-2012)
Old 10-25-2012, 05:46 AM   #38
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

insufficient panel ground


250.52(A)(5)(a), 2008 codebook. "Grounding electrodes of pipe or conduit..." Wise guy.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Glennsparky For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-25-2012)
Old 10-25-2012, 09:45 AM   #39
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,523
Default

insufficient panel ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Glennsparky View Post
250.52(A)(5)(a), 2008 codebook. "Grounding electrodes of pipe or conduit..." Wise guy.
Well paint me blue and call me Babe! The "leftover buried conduit electrode" is actually specifically endorsed by the NEC. I'd never heard of that before.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 10:40 AM   #40
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

insufficient panel ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemkie View Post
first: This is the main fuse panel for the whole house.

Then: Just to clarify this is the one and only panel for the house. The wires in the picture are the main power wires coming from the street. I realize these stay live if the main breaker is switched off. What I didn't know if it the main breaker being off was enough to move the ground wire
Where is this main breaker you keep mentioning?
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:43 PM   #41
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

insufficient panel ground


That code does not cover the conduit the service entrance conductors are run thru, and you would still need two.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
jrclen (10-25-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 08:28 AM
New detached garage with sub and ground, house has no ground at panel italie Electrical 9 09-12-2011 02:43 PM
Service panel ground downunder Electrical 13 05-13-2011 04:46 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Nuetral from feeder cable to main panel question? TW Lucas Electrical 14 05-08-2008 11:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.