Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2008, 04:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

installing wall box programmable timer


I was hoping to replace the switch from a switch-controlled ceiling light with a programmable timer/switch unfortunately I don't know what to connect to the blue wire that originates from the timer.

The wall box has the standard ground wire (copper), 1 neutral wire (white) and 1 hot wire (black).

The timer has 4 wires (white, green , black and blue). The instructions say to connect the white to neutral, the green to ground, the black to the line wire and the blue to the load wire. The instructions don't provide any information related to connections besides this.

My guess is that the black and blue from the timer should be connected to the single black wire from the wall box but my gut tells me that that may just be wishful thinking and not a good idea to do without some further instruction. I plan on calling the manufacturer as a follow-up but was wondering if I could get some input from you DIY folks.

Much appreciated
rasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 04:59 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

installing wall box programmable timer


If both the black and white wires were conneted to the switch, then you have a switch loop. It brings the hot from the ceiling box, through the switch and back to the fan. You will not be able to use the timmer without another wire brought into the box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:05 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

installing wall box programmable timer


Thank you. I kind of thought that might be the case. My home is about 15 years old. Are new homes wired differently now?
rasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:12 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,475
Default

installing wall box programmable timer


I do not wire them that way because of the problem you are facing, but it is legal to do and is still done today.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:29 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Default

installing wall box programmable timer


there are some timers out there that are powered by a battery and will work with only the switched loop needing to be connected, no neutral.

Like http://www.intermatic.com/?action=pr...cid=43&sid=112
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 06:20 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Default

installing wall box programmable timer


Thanks for that tip. I'll definately look further into it. What with the shorter days now I was wanting to regulate the room lighting for my parrots but not wanting to rewire my house in the process. The battery option sounds viable. My birds thank you too!
rasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 08:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

installing wall box programmable timer


There are also two wire timers that drop a volt or two across themselves to power their innards, but if the bulb they control burns out you have to reprogram the timer.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:12 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6
Post

installing wall box programmable timer


That is doable as well. What companies make these - any that you might recommend?

Thanks for your time on this.
rasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 08:36 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

installing wall box programmable timer


http://www.intermatic.com/?action=subcat&sid=112
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing kitchen wall cabinets higher than spec recommendation? alexz General DIY Discussions 14 07-20-2008 11:32 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM
Raising Doorway Height (load bearing?) treefrog Building & Construction 6 02-25-2008 09:11 PM
Marrying a sloping stone wall to a cinder block wall. mrdol Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 11-09-2007 04:08 PM
Atlantic-need your opinion on markd's comments about my vapor barrier? yummy mummy Building & Construction 11 03-07-2007 09:47 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.