Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2011, 01:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Installing timer switch


Hey guys,

I am placing a timer switch at my office. Taking off the current regular light switch this is what I see:

1 copper wire(left side) - which I am not sure how best to connect to the correct wire on the timer switch(cap or clamp)
2 black wires(right side)





The timer switch has:

1) blue - load
2)black - line
3)white - neutral

Please inform me which wire goes to which. Thank you in advance.


Last edited by peequi; 11-24-2011 at 01:28 PM.
peequi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 02:16 PM   #2
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Installing timer switch


with the switch off one of the black wires will still be hot, this is your line. the other black is your load wire.

the white neutral wire goes with the white wires tucked in the back of the box. unless there is a green screw somewhere on the new timer it doesnt need a ground connection, you can tuck the bare copper in the box.


use appropriately sized wire nuts to make your connections/

Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 02:46 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Installing timer switch


with the switch in the OFF position you need to go with a meter SW Black to copper then the other SW Black to copper see which has 115V in the off positon got it.remove that black and wire nut it to the timer black.now that the timer BLUE and screw it onto the switch where the SW black came from.then the timer white to a neutral wire hopefully it is in the wall box the switch came out of? forget the raw copper just tuck it into the back of the box....reinstalling switch.if you don't have a white neutral for the timer white...got to do what you have to do.remember your not breaking the neutral with the switch but the hot feed to the LOAD(light)
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:13 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Installing timer switch


You can't install that timer. It requires a neutral connection. There is no neutral in your switch box. You have a switch loop.
The white wire connected to the switch is being used as a hot wire.
The bare wire is a ground. It connect to the green screw or green wire of your new switch.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:34 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Installing timer switch


if you want to install the timer up in the light that's where your WHITE neutral is for the timer WHITE..if you had a spare wire coming down from the light in the SWITCH area you would just bring the Neutral down into the switch box....
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 05:59 PM   #6
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 697
Default

Installing timer switch


i want to know why you think there is no neutral wire in the switch box guys, there is no white wire connected to the switch, there are 2 BLACK. they look to me like they've been painted a bit 2 wirenuts tucked in the back of the box in picture #2, i assumed one was the grounds and one was the neutral..
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 06:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,247
Default

Installing timer switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
i want to know why you think there is no neutral wire in the switch box guys, there is no white wire connected to the switch, there are 2 BLACK. they look to me like they've been painted a bit 2 wirenuts tucked in the back of the box in picture #2, i assumed one was the grounds and one was the neutral..
agree with you techy there should be wires tucked in back neutrals...2 black on switch leg and not black and white....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:08 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

Installing timer switch


After closer examination you are correct. The wire in the second picture definitely appears to be white.
The bare wire goes to the green screw or green wire if there is one on the switch.
You will need a meter to determine which black wire is the hot wire. That is the one which goes to the timer black.
The other black goes to the blue load wire.
The white switch wire goes with the other whites in the back of the box.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:33 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Installing timer switch


poster take a pix of that yellow wire nut pulled out so we can see its color...if it is white check each switch wires to it and see if you get 115 bounce...then your good to go
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 08:13 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Installing timer switch


Sorry guys. Yes there are 2 wires that are tied together buried in there. I should have taken a photo of that as well.

Thanks!
peequi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 10:50 AM   #11
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,601
Default

Installing timer switch


if you hit the hot on that switch and to them thats your neutral if you go from the wire nutted pair to raw copper and get 115V its hots wire nutted
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 03:45 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Installing timer switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
with the switch off one of the black wires will still be hot, this is your line. the other black is your load wire.

the white neutral wire goes with the white wires tucked in the back of the box. unless there is a green screw somewhere on the new timer it doesnt need a ground connection, you can tuck the bare copper in the box.


use appropriately sized wire nuts to make your connections/
Thanks. That makes sense that one of the black wires will still be hot, not sure why I didn't realize that in the first place!

Thanks for pointing out those white wires, I didn't notice them at first.

Incase someone runs into this thread do exactly what Techy said:
white to 2 white wires
line to hot wire
load to non-hot wire

This unit that I purchased does not have a ground(it is a modern Honeywell product)! I am 100% sure there is no ground. Very strange but it is working fine.

peequi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing Switch In Reversing AC Motor RetiredLE Electrical 13 02-01-2013 07:11 PM
Timer switch at end of run tmaher Electrical 3 05-16-2011 06:06 AM
Trying to install wall timer in place of switch bigcutts Electrical 3 02-02-2011 03:41 AM
GE Smart Timer in a 3 way switch vanisle Electrical 8 10-27-2010 12:34 AM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.