Installing A TED 5000 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2011, 12:59 PM   #1
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Installing a TED 5000


Any opinions on using the two 20 amps for the whole house surge on our Square D QO panel, to connect the MTU to, for power of that unit? I figured that instead of putting in two more breakers just for the mtu, and that since the QO breakers can be double-tapped.

I figured that the whole house breakers, would give the less noise on the mtu, since all they do, is sit there to look pretty, to power up the whole house surge. I figured that I would plug the gateway into the outlet that is on the side of the load center, and that for the ethernet cable, my network rack is right there, so I will not have to pull a new cat-5e run.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 01:06 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a TED 5000


Greg.,

If you are talking about the whole house surge surpessor yeah I have done that few time { as long the manufacter say it ok to tied to one of the two pole branch circuits } then it is not a issue I have done few the same thing with intermatic whole house surge supressor with two pole breaker.

However let me give you a head up with extreal surge supressor jamais { never } cut the conductors shorter.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 01:14 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Installing a TED 5000


I have the Intermatic whole house on my panel. I figured either hook the wires there, or put on the dryer or a/c. Figured the noise from those two, would be too much for the mtu. I like the Power house dynamics eMonitor, but $945 for a 24 slot panel is way more than I would want, just to be able to monitor the house in general.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 01:43 PM   #4
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing a TED 5000


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
I have the Intermatic whole house on my panel. I figured either hook the wires there, or put on the dryer or a/c. Figured the noise from those two, would be too much for the mtu. I like the Power house dynamics eMonitor, but $945 for a 24 slot panel is way more than I would want, just to be able to monitor the house in general.
Just hook up any spot but not with motour load too much noise as you say and that is true and also when they start up they can wreck hovac on them some case.

945 USD ?? for Dynamics eMonitor that is pretty steep price Merde !

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2011, 02:03 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Installing a TED 5000


I thought that also, but if I had my father in-laws place, I would spend that to track use, since he has two outbuildings and the main house. Our place is about 821 sq ft, and only thing that runs all of the time, since I am home until dec. all the time, is the plasma.

Looking at the info on the Ted, it is a learning curve, but will be a neat toy, to go along with the wifi thermostat that I have. I figured since I am changing from the radiothermostat.com app, to ourhomespaces.com, I figured step it up to make the home a little smarter. What I have tried to look for yesterday, is something that I can use to track gas use more effectively, instead of waiting for the bill to just show up once a month.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing foam board around windows ? Arky217 Windows and Doors 3 09-12-2011 05:13 PM
Installing a suspended in a room that has an angled wall... markronz Remodeling 10 02-20-2010 10:03 AM
Installing saddle valve on hot water pipe Dbizot Plumbing 6 01-14-2010 12:11 PM
Method for installing 3/8" engineered hardwood poolecw Flooring 10 10-31-2008 04:10 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 09:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts