Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2009, 10:58 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


Hello,

I need some guidance on the installation of a SwitchLinc Dimmer product #2476D. If needed, product information and owners manual can be viewed at:
http://www.smarthome.com/2476D/Switc...r-White/p.aspx

The problem I have is I don't know where to connect the switch white to?

The switch box is new wiring, I ran 14-2 wire down the wall from a recessed light in the ceiling. The light is also new and has 14-2 running from the power source (to the light); so the switch is considered to be at the end of the line. The light is a low voltage juno can, magnetic, and the SwitchLinc Dimmer is supposed to work with this light.

The current wiring is in the light is as follows:
source black to switch white (connection made in the light's box)
source white to light white (connection made in the light's box)
switch black to light black (connection made in the light's box)

This leaves me with the following in the switch box:
a white (hot) in the switch box
a black (load) in the switch box

Now I'm left with connecting the SwitchLinc Dimmer's white, black, and red wire's to the above.

in a standard switch (non-dimmable) when i connect the switch black to the switch left terminal and the switch white to the switch right terminal, everything works fine.

But when wiring the SwitchLinc Dimmer, I don't know where to wire the switch white wire to since the switch has 3 wires (red, black, white) and the wires in the box only have two (black, white). If needed, I can run 14-3 down the wall to the switch, but my next question would be how to wire the light to the source.

I thought I could get this done with 14-2 to the switch, but it is looking like I need to redo it with 14-3....

Thanks for your help!


Last edited by dlp_710; 08-07-2009 at 11:07 AM.
dlp_710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 11:30 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


That switch needs a neutral wire to operate.
The thing to do is run a 14/3 down to the switch and connect the white wire to the white if the source, and the black wire to the black of the source, and use the red wire as a switch leg.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 11:31 AM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


Neutral wiring is required You will have to run a 14-3 so you have a neutral wire.Good luck
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 11:48 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
That switch needs a neutral wire to operate.
The thing to do is run a 14/3 down to the switch and connect the white wire to the white if the source, and the black wire to the black of the source, and use the red wire as a switch leg.
I appreciate your help.

i assume in the switch, i just connect black to back, white to white, red to red, and ground to ground. but in the light box, what does the red coming up from the switch's 14-3 connect to? Also, in the light, do I connect the all the blacks to blacks, whites to whites, and grounds to grounds?

Last edited by dlp_710; 08-07-2009 at 12:27 PM.
dlp_710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 12:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 45
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


Quote:
Originally Posted by dlp_710 View Post
I appreciate your help.

i assume in the switch, i just connect black to back, white to white, red to red, and ground to ground. but in the light box, what does the red coming up from the switch's 14-3 connect to? Also, in the light, do I connect the all the blacks to blacks, whites to whites, and grounds to grounds?

Connect the black wire of you new 3wire to the power source, connect the red wire to the load (light fixture) white to white , bare copper to grounding conductor

Is there any insulation touching the fixture? Is that recess light an IC can? If it is not and IC can and there is insulation present make sure the insulation is at lest 3" away from the fixture.
ChristopherSprks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 12:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristopherSprks View Post
Connect the black wire of you new 3wire to the power source, connect the red wire to the load (light fixture) white to white , bare copper to grounding conductor

Is there any insulation touching the fixture? Is that recess light an IC can? If it is not and IC can and there is insulation present make sure the insulation is at lest 3" away from the fixture.
I got it. So all the whites are connected together; 3 whites in the light box and the 2 whites in the switch box.

The can is IC rated. Thanks so much for your help!
dlp_710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:17 PM   #7
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


Quote:
This leaves me with the following in the switch box:
a white (hot) in the switch box
a black (load) in the switch b
HE has no white wire in switch box
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:29 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


I am going to rerun 14-3 to the switch. Without it, it cannot be done with this switch.
dlp_710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 01:31 PM   #9
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Wink

Installing of SwitchLinc Dimmer (2476D)


Quote:
Originally Posted by dlp_710 View Post
I am going to rerun 14-3 to the switch. Without it, it cannot be done with this switch.

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing a dimmer switch from an old switch wilsonfrench Electrical 7 01-11-2009 01:05 PM
Need help installing a dimmer switch { PICTURE } Brieninsac Electrical 8 11-20-2008 12:25 PM
Installing Dimmer for fireplace blower MountainMan HVAC 4 07-02-2008 11:09 PM
Installing Aspire Remote Smart Dimmer sk72 Electrical 8 03-19-2008 09:16 PM
Installing a dimmer xray328 Electrical 5 02-24-2007 06:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.