Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2010, 12:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Angry

installing switch from outlet


Trying to install 2 outlets and an on off switch in an outside building. I have everything wired, when I put power on, my on off switch doesn't work. There is a light plugged into each outlet. The on off switch is on the off position, but yet the lights come on when I put main power on. When I turn the switch to "on", I blow a fuse. What am I doing wrong?

purplepirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 12:56 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,696
Rewards Points: 2,190
Default

installing switch from outlet


It would help greatly if you could describe the wiring sequence you used.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 01:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

installing switch from outlet


Sorry, I really don't know much about this. At the main outlet, there are 4 screws (two on either side), I have white on bottom screw and black on brass screw on opposite side (diagonal from each other). From there I piggybacked to next outlet and connected wires the same on that outlet. From there I piggyback to an off off switch. There are 3 screws (2 silver on top and one brass on bottom). I attached black wire to brass screw on bottom and white wire to silver screw on top opposite side (wires are diagonal from each other). The on/off switch is in the off position. When I power on at fuse box, the fluorescent lights I have plugged into the outlets come on. When I turn the on/off switch to the on position, the lights turn off, but fuse blows.
purplepirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 01:10 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 164
Rewards Points: 150
Default

installing switch from outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by purplepirate View Post
Sorry, I really don't know much about this. At the main outlet, there are 4 screws (two on either side), I have white on bottom screw and black on brass screw on opposite side (diagonal from each other). From there I piggybacked to next outlet and connected wires the same on that outlet. From there I piggyback to an off off switch. There are 3 screws (2 silver on top and one brass on bottom). I attached black wire to brass screw on bottom and white wire to silver screw on top opposite side (wires are diagonal from each other). The on/off switch is in the off position. When I power on at fuse box, the fluorescent lights I have plugged into the outlets come on. When I turn the on/off switch to the on position, the lights turn off, but fuse blows.

So, you're trying to turn the lights on and off with the switch?

what you've got right now is a switch wired as a "short circuit" at the end of your circuit. As soon as you flip the switch to "ON" you're providing a short circuit and the breaker trips. (as it should)

You've got to place the switch between the first outlet and the breaker. Switch only "hot" wire (black in this case) and never the "neutral" wire. (white in this case)
moondawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 01:47 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,696
Rewards Points: 2,190
Default

installing switch from outlet


Sounds like you want the switch to control both receptacles. If so you need to take the power to the switch box first and then run to the receptacles.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 02:27 PM   #6
Jack of all - master none
 
hyunelan2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SW Suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 1,214
Rewards Points: 514
Default

installing switch from outlet


Power coming in (black) -> switch screw 1
Power coming from switch screw 2 (black) -> outlet 1
connect neutral (white) wire to outlet 1.
Piggyback outlet 2 from outlet 1 (white and black).

Also, ground properly for your setup.
hyunelan2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 03:45 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

installing switch from outlet


I am so confused now. Yes I am trying to control lights at the outlets with this switch. I've gone out and bought a one switch/one receptacle combination to put at "the beginning" where I have one light. When I wired it according to the diagram included, it did turn on/off the light with the switch. But it doesn't do the same with the other light at the other outlet.
purplepirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 04:28 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

installing switch from outlet


Got it figured out...Everything works fine now...ty.

purplepirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing dedicated outlet for generator only iabteri Electrical 21 12-13-2013 02:46 PM
Switch outlet in bathroom odale Electrical 7 12-11-2009 07:04 PM
Light switch installation problems pc_clone Electrical 8 11-30-2009 09:25 PM
Half outlet / Half switch tb582 Electrical 3 10-01-2009 08:55 PM
installing a light fixture on a switch controlled outlet Unregistered Electrical 1 02-24-2004 10:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.