Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-17-2012, 12:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Installing a Reliance 31406CRK transfer switch


Hi,

I have a question about my new transfer switch install. I'm running a remote power inlet box to the main switch. The manual on page 10 http://www.reliancecontrols.com/Docu...%20English.pdf states to install the WHITE building wire to "W", the RED to "X" and the BLACK to "Y".

However, the installation video http://www.reliancecontrols.com/Stre...Player_T1.aspx
for the Power Inlet Box states that the BLACK wire should go to "X" and the RED should go to "Y".

The transfer switch itself simply has color coded wire to hook into, so I don't suppose there's any way to mess that up.

Help please!

Thanks,
Lee
LeeB18509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 01:06 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Installing a Reliance 31406CRK transfer switch


The usual procedure is:

W = white
X = Black
Y = Red

However, swapping the black and red leads will have no effect on the installation.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 01:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Utah
Posts: 2
Default

Installing a Reliance 31406CRK transfer switch


Thanks. I believe I'll wire it per your recommend and the installation video.
LeeB18509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer switch for furnace? KE2KB Electrical 10 11-14-2011 09:31 AM
Installing new switch from an old one. Indecisi0n Electrical 1 10-29-2011 11:33 AM
Generator Transfer switch "kits" lucky8926 Electrical 14 04-09-2011 02:40 PM
Distance between the main breaker panel and a manual transfer switch panel jerryallie Electrical 2 09-01-2010 08:11 PM
Need help installing a dimmer switch { PICTURE } Brieninsac Electrical 8 11-20-2008 12:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.