Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 10:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Installing a recessed light


Is it okay to replace a light on a 12 awg circuit (20 amp breaker) with a recessed light that is marked 14 awg through branch circuit conductors (on the can). If not, can you explain why.

Thanks

y_wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:26 PM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Installing a recessed light


Quote:
Originally Posted by y_wren View Post
Is it okay to replace a light on a 12 awg circuit (20 amp breaker) with a recessed light that is marked 14 awg through branch circuit conductors (on the can). If not, can you explain why.

Thanks
Does it have pig tails that are 14 gage or are the terminals are it marked that it only accepts 14 gage?

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 10:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Installing a recessed light


Hi,

On the under side of the recessed can is states 'Max. of (4) NO. 14 AWG thought branch circuit conductors 2 in and 2 out suitable for at least 75 degree premitted in junction box.'

Thanks
y_wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 03:55 AM   #4
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Installing a recessed light


That sounds like a physical fill limit, not anything to do with ampacity.
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 07:10 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Installing a recessed light


Where will this can be located in the circuit?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 08:50 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Installing a recessed light


Hi,

The light is in the middle of run. I have not removed the old light yet, but it is also connected to a 3-way switch. So depending on how this way done, it is possible to have 2 - 12-3 coming from the switch and 1 -12-2 leaving which would exceed the capacity of box. (but I might can do a work around if it'sonly a capacity issue).


Thanks

Last edited by y_wren; 11-14-2008 at 08:56 AM.
y_wren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 09:47 AM   #7
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Installing a recessed light


Yes, the 14 gauge limit is the volume capacity of the junction box attached to it. I doubt that the 3-way wiring passes through the lights. If the box is limited to four 14-2's, that seems to indicate a volume of 18 cubic inches or so, not counting the wires to the fixture. This would indicate a maximum of three 12-2's in the box.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing recessed light trim helpless handyman Electrical 18 07-30-2009 04:35 PM
Recessed Light on Curved Ceiling? mfleming Electrical 2 10-31-2008 06:53 PM
Hall light worked before installing a new light fixture in bathroom jcfan7 Electrical 40 02-23-2008 09:46 AM
Recessed light plan foiled? kcrossley2 Electrical 8 03-14-2007 11:08 PM
recessed light farrington135 Electrical 3 12-03-2006 12:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.