Installing A Range Hood - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing a range hood


I currently have an over the range microwave that i installed replacing a range hood. At that time i wired in a GCFI socket for the microwave to plug into. However, as im now moving house i will be taking this with me and replacing it with a range hood. (Too new and expensive to leave).

How do i wire the range hood. The old range hood that i still have has two white wires and one black.

Can i add a plug to it? or, does it have to be wired directly (hard wired?)

Advertisement

NewHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:42 AM   #2
Remodeler
 
adpanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Installing a range hood


I assume all permanent mount vent hoods are designed to be hardwired, and can't accommodate a plug and outlet. I installed my Vent-a-Hood brand hood liner two years ago, and the only possible installation method was hardwiring.

Advertisement

adpanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
range hood through the wall - - -stud in the way pacifier1er Building & Construction 30 05-21-2013 10:23 AM
suggestions on contructing a range hood steve1234 Carpentry 15 08-30-2010 11:35 PM
Installing range hood - wall vent DIYGST HVAC 3 01-04-2009 08:45 AM
Cabinet Crown Molding and Hood Range? gate1way2 Carpentry 3 10-16-2008 12:13 AM
Same Circuit: Range Hood, DW, and GD? atty_toconnor Electrical 4 04-08-2008 05:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts