Installing Outlet...please Help - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2010, 09:17 AM   #1
Weekend Warrior
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing outlet...please help


Existing wiring was found right where I am installing a new outlet and is preventing the new outlet box from being positioned correctly. I do not want to change the outlet location. My plan is to deenergize the existing circuit, temporarily protect the Romex from abrasion, and then hog out the pass-through hole in the stud to allow the wiring to drop down ~1". The box can then be mounted flush with the drywall.

What can I use to protect the Romex while I am drilling the hole bigger? I am thinking of holding the wire up, inserting a small piece of metal (like a kick plate trimmed to fit in the opening) just below the wire, and then safely drilling the hole. Any other ideas?


Advertisement

H2O Engr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 09:34 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Installing outlet...please help


You could either raise the new box location to clear the wires, necessitating some minor patching, or if you have 2" of clearance use a box like the Carlon shown here: http://www.hardwareandtools.com/invt/9490079

The problem with trying to enlarge the hole is if you do nick the wires, you have increased your problems greatly.

Advertisement

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:21 AM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Installing outlet...please help


I would drill a hole just below the cable but not touching the current hole. Then take and chisel out the wood between the two holes.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:00 PM   #4
R_T
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern California, Coastal
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing outlet...please help


Consider that there may be another cable, a pipe, a duct on the other side of that stud.

It is also possible that the cable you see turns down and is stapled close to the other side of the stud.

At the very least you should anticipate what may be in the next bay by looking at both sides of the walls on that floor and any floors above and below.

Then I would use a standard dill bit with a relatively non-pointed end to poke a pilot hole. Mark the depth of the stud on your bit.
R_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:06 PM   #5
R_T
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southern California, Coastal
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Installing outlet...please help


duh....

You can probably rule out the pipe or duct possibilities by sticking something through the existing hole. That doesn't rule out another wire stapled to the stud.

I might not be too sharp this morning.
R_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing dedicated outlet for generator only iabteri Electrical 21 12-13-2013 03:46 PM
Installing New Electrical Outlet - Vapour Barrier WhIsKeY Electrical 4 12-31-2009 12:08 PM
Installing a new in-line electrical outlet Nedly83 Electrical 5 09-01-2009 08:44 AM
installing an outdoor outlet bcatl Electrical 4 06-18-2009 06:56 PM
Installing dryer outlet in laundry room ManMythLegend Electrical 11 07-13-2008 11:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts