Installing Outdoor Outlets - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 08:44 AM   #1
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


I'm going to install 2 outdoor outlets. What size wire and breaker?

I'm planning on running both outlets to a new arc fault breaker since they are now code here. Should I use 15 or 20 amp? I also understand that you don't need a GCFI outlet now if you use an arc fault breaker. Is that correct?

What size wire? I'll be using the gray UF, my brother says I should use 12-2 but its twice the price of 14-2. Which one should I do?

Advertisement

no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 08:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,785
Rewards Points: 686
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by no1hustler View Post
I'm going to install 2 outdoor outlets. What size wire and breaker?

I'm planning on running both outlets to a new arc fault breaker since they are now code here. Should I use 15 or 20 amp? I also understand that you don't need a GCFI outlet now if you use an arc fault breaker. Is that correct?

What size wire? I'll be using the gray UF, my brother says I should use 12-2 but its twice the price of 14-2. Which one should I do?
Why would you use UF wire? If the wires not being run under ground it's not needed and would be a whole lot harder to work with.
Yes your going to need a GFI.
If it was mine I would use 12-2, 20 amp breaker, and try and find a way to have the GFI on the inside of the house in an easy to access place then run the wires to the outside outlets. Reason being you'll get a lot less faulse trips from moisture.
I'd use the 20 amp. because at some point someone's going to try and run a compressor, ciruler saw or some other tool while doing repairs and it may keep tripping.

I'm hoping some of the real electritions will chime in on having to have that on an Arc fault.

Advertisement

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
no1hustler (03-22-2013)
Old 03-22-2013, 09:11 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Are you running new receptacles on the outside of the house, or out into the yard?
Gfci are required in either case.
Size of wire and breaker is determined by what you will be using the circuits for.
20 amp breaker with #12, 15 amp with #14.
UF cable can be run underground, or you can run pipe and use individual wires.

AFCI is not required for outside receptacles.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
joecaption (03-22-2013), no1hustler (03-22-2013)
Old 03-22-2013, 10:21 AM   #4
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Great. Thanks guys. I just did some more reading on the subject. You guys are right. AFCI is not required for exterior receptacles. I'll have to tell my brother that!

The wire is not going directly into the back of the box. It will be exposed to the elements so that is why I planned on using UF.

I'll use 20amps with #12. Joe is right, I'll be using some stuff with high loads on occasion.

Which is better, plastic or metal boxes for outside?
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,785
Rewards Points: 686
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Plastic, it would be great if you would tell us exactly how you plan on doing this so no one has to guess.
Are you installing the box on the outside of a building, out in the yard on a pole?
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:34 AM   #6
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Oh sorry. I'll be drilling through block to the outside (at an angle so water won't try to get in). Running the wire out the hole and up into the bottom of the box which will be attached to the outside of the house. I'll seal the hole that the wire is coming through. I'll do that on the front of the house and the back. I'll run them both directly into the circuit box on its own breaker. Down the road I'll probably add an additional outlet on a post out in the yard but that is for another time. Out front I may hard wire a spotlight to the outlet.
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 10:42 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,785
Rewards Points: 686
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


I'd use a box like this and feed it from the back side through a piece of PVC.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Greenfiel...23PS/202188611
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
no1hustler (03-22-2013)
Old 03-22-2013, 11:07 AM   #8
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


I can't go directly into the back. I'll be coming out of the block wall and the box will be attached to the brick above where it comes out. Otherwise, the box would be too low to the ground for my liking.
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:11 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,785
Rewards Points: 686
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Then you use one of these where it comes out of the wall and some PVC conduit with a water tight adapter on the bottom of the box.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=1
When drilling the hole through the block make sure to drill it from the outside in. If not your going to blow the block out.

Use Tap-Con screws to attach to the wall.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
no1hustler (03-22-2013)
Old 03-22-2013, 11:15 AM   #10
Custom User Title
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 353
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Then you use one of these where it comes out of the wall and some PVC conduit with a water tight adapter on the bottom of the box.
http://www.bing.com/images/search?q=...electedIndex=1
When drilling the hole through the block make sure to drill it from the outside in. If not your going to blow the block out.

Use Tap-Con screws to attach to the wall.
If I do that instead, can I nix the UF?
no1hustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:36 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,785
Rewards Points: 686
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Yes, not suppost to have it exposed outside where it can be damaged any way.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 12:40 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Installing outdoor outlets


Quote:
Originally Posted by no1hustler View Post
If I do that instead, can I nix the UF?
No.

If you went into the back, you would not have to use the uf, but since there will be a piece of pipe, nm-b can not be used.
A conduit outside is considered a wet location and nm-b can not be used in a wet location.

You could put a junction box inside, and bring individual wires from there to the receptacle.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
joecaption (03-22-2013), no1hustler (03-22-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing vinyl fenching over chain link? rbove8 General DIY Discussions 3 05-02-2011 10:54 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 09:26 PM
Installing an island on floating engineered wood floor funktional Flooring 11 03-14-2008 07:19 AM
Installing laminate around doors??!! RonR Flooring 8 01-05-2008 08:38 AM
Installing T&G birch ceiling NeedHelp Building & Construction 6 12-29-2007 09:09 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts