Installing Outdoor GFCI Off Of A Middle Of The Run Existing Receptacle - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 11:34 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


I want to install an outdoor GFCI by tapping into an existing receptacle that is middle of the run. I need to know how to handle the wiring. Thanks so much for any and all suggestions.

Advertisement

Noahsark09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 11:56 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,011
Rewards Points: 2,820
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Certain circuits are limited to specific rooms or functions like the kitchen, bathroom and laundry circuits. Where are you trying to obtain power from?

Advertisement

Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 03:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Certain circuits are limited to specific rooms or functions like the kitchen, bathroom and laundry circuits. Where are you trying to obtain power from?
I am obtaining the power from the existing receptical which is middle of the run.
Noahsark09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 03:47 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Noahsark09 View Post
I am obtaining the power from the existing receptical which is middle of the run.
Right, but where is that circuit located/feeding ?
Normal room, bathroom, laundry room, kitchen ?
There are restrictions on feeding other outlets from certain circuits
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 04:10 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Smile

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Sorry it is in a bedroom. A spare bedroom that isn't being used.
Noahsark09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Yes, you can tap off of a bedroom outlet to install an outside outlet
Outside outlet must be GFCI protected
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:11 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


I am just confused as to how to handle the wiring. I have a line and load and want to know how to wire the new receptacle
Noahsark09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:18 PM   #8
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Put them under the line- Load would be for other rec's protected off The GFCI'S.

Last edited by 300zx; 11-30-2009 at 05:29 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


If you want an outside GFCI that will trip independant of the GFCI inside then connect off the LINE side & install a GFCI outside

If you want the external outlet protected off the inside GFCI then connect off the LOAD side

Myself I'd use the GFCI inside
Outside ones now need to be TR (tamper resistant) & WR weather resistant)
This has driven up their cost quite a bit
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:31 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
If you want an outside GFCI that will trip independant of the GFCI inside then connect off the LINE side & install a GFCI outside

If you want the external outlet protected off the inside GFCI then connect off the LOAD side

Myself I'd use the GFCI inside
Outside ones now need to be TR (tamper resistant) & WR weather resistant)
This has driven up their cost quite a bit
So basically I just need to pigtail off of the line side and run the electric out to the new GFCI? and leave the load lines alone?
Noahsark09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:32 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Put them under the line- Load would be for other rec's protected off The GFCI'S.
I am wonder about the wiring configuration. I was told to pigtail the line black, and line white. Rewire the existing and run the forth wire out to the GFCI
Noahsark09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:01 PM   #12
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Yes,You can pigtail and run one wire to GFCI Just hook to line side of Gfci.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:10 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,960
Rewards Points: 2,316
Default

Installing outdoor GFCI off of a middle of the run existing receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Noahsark09 View Post
So basically I just need to pigtail off of the line side and run the electric out to the new GFCI? and leave the load lines alone?
The recepticles in the bedroom probably do not have a line and a load.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 09:26 PM
Installing 24" granite tiles over existing kitchen countertop? pford Carpentry 3 01-25-2008 11:16 PM
Installing 'peal and stick' vinyl squares on top of existing .... alexz Flooring 8 02-17-2007 05:20 PM
Installing Central Air using existing heat ducts lvlacic HVAC 2 06-25-2005 01:47 AM
Installing a Door in an existing pass-through gbarron1 Building & Construction 2 03-17-2005 04:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts