Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread

Old 09-15-2012, 01:17 PM   #1

Share |

Installing OTR microwave but no electrical outlet in upper cabinet

Hello,
I have an OTR microwave but right now I have no electrical outlet in the upper cabinet. I was planning to drill through the side cabinets and use an extension cord to reach the nearest electrical socket. Was wondering if that is a good plan or should I get an electrician to install an electrical socket in the upper cabinet?

Old 09-15-2012, 03:46 PM   #2

Not sure where you're located, and I am not an electrician, but in Canada when I installed an OTR microwave(GE) the code was an OTR microwave required a dedicated circuit (15amp). But a stand on the counter microwave could be plugged into a kitchen receptacle. So, here, you'd require a dedicated circuit. But the code may be different for your location.

Last edited by orange; 09-15-2012 at 03:59 PM.
Old 09-15-2012, 03:47 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen

Moved to Electrical forum.
Old 09-15-2012, 03:58 PM   #4
Resi EC

Best thing would be to get a licensed electrician to install a circuit for the microwave
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (09-16-2012)
Old 09-15-2012, 08:58 PM   #5

dont use an extension cord for a permanent load, especially a high draw appliance
Old 09-15-2012, 09:12 PM   #6
Licensed electrician

You are going to need to install a new dedicated circuit from the panel.

Do not use the extension cord.
Speedy Petey (09-16-2012)
Old 09-15-2012, 09:15 PM   #7
Retired from the grind

Quote:
Originally Posted by salilsurendran View Post
Hello,